79 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good, but I did take some liberties. Used 'no name' garlic/herb soft cheese, which was excellent but might have been a tad too soft/melty. And I subbed center-cut bacon -- the chicken was done before the bacon was crispy. I will either broil briefly before serving, or will try again with bacon the recipie calls for. I used about 1-2 T. heavy whipping cream & a generous amount of white wine for sauce to get bits from pan, that was great. Oh - one other item -- put 2x the cherry tomatoes you think you'll want in the pan, they go SUPER with this. Thanks for sharing this recipie!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lakeout May 27, 2010

The whole family loved this dish! Not an easy task in my household. I used garlic herb brie as the cheese, always seem to have that in frig.;) Worked wonderfully. I used San Marzano tomatoes cut in quarters to sub for the cherry tomatoes- boy were they delicious. Don’t get me wrong I loved the chicken but the tomatoes with the sauce were out of this world- I could have just eaten those and have a fabulous meal

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Antifreesz May 03, 2010

Awesome, French Tart! I was feeling a lack of confidence in my cooking lately after a slew of mediocre dinners and needed to up the ante. I found this recipe and redeemed myself to my husband and toddler :) Thank you for that! I followed the recipe to a "T" and broiled it for 3 minutes at the end to crisp the bacon and pop some of the delicious cherry tomatoes. I didn't make reduce the sauce, but poured it over the chicken and side of risotto and spinach. A From now on I'm going to you for truly excellent recipes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 12, 2011

Absolutely devine! Was a huge with the fam and very simple to make. I used laughing cow garlic and herb wedges for the center (about a wedge per breast) mixed with some freshly chopped garlic for extra flavor. Used Applewood smoked bacon and cherry tomatoes and not only was the smell in the house while it was cooking enough to make our stomachs rumble and our mouths water but the flavor combination of every thing was absolutely wonderful! Cooked it for 40 minutes with about 5-10 minutes broil time to cook the bacon further. Made a sauce with creme fraiche, chicken stock, and the remaining juices from the pan and it was all perfect served over fettuccine. Special enough for a dinner party, yet simple and quick enough to whip together after work on any week day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charityk88 November 06, 2013

This is an excellent recipe. I made it for a Mother's Day gathering of 8 and received rave reviews from everyone. I used the homemade boursin cheese substitute recipe that I also found on this website which worked out beautifully. I baked the chicken in a 400 degree oven for about 40 minutes and then turned the oven to broil for about 5 minutes to crisp the bacon. I didn't bother with the sauce and thought it was perfect as is.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ljh237 May 09, 2011

Gorgeous! I found that the chicken needed a lot less cooking time, in my fan oven at 160 it took about 25 mins so maybe check your chicken before the end of the time specified here. I added some chopped baby leeks to the tray with the tomatoes and sprinkled oregano, salt and pepper over these, and some chopped thyme with olive oil on the chicken. I served the chicken and veg with a tomato risotto, a baby spinach and pine nut salad, and some garlic bread. My guests loved it. Great recipe thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doobylou February 22, 2011

Absolutely FANTASTIC! This is probably one of the tastiest recipes I have rated on Food.com!<br/>I made mine with cream cheese mixed with fresh herbs from the garden (oregano, thyme and basil) and some black pepper.<br/>I was concerned that I hadn't 'tucked' the ends well enough but the chesse stayed put and the slices looked very elegant on the plates! Like others I broiled the last 10 mins to make sure the bacon was crispy!<br/>Easy enough for a weeknight but would be impressive to serve to company! <br/>Thank you for a true winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Violet F. October 24, 2013

Words fail me. I made this today following the recipe completely, with the exception of the tomatoes since we have an allergy to them. I don't think I've ever tasted anything so comforting, so scrumptious, so rib-sticking, so delightful, so creamy, so heavenly... ever in my life. I'm food-drunk. I honestly can't thank you enough French Tart, and believe me when I say I will be following your every recipe. The only mistake I made was making a twice-baked potato, with shallots. The creme fraiche/white wine sauce on it was just too good. Can a person die from something being too delicious? I'm going to go lie down now as I'm in a food coma. This is the best possible way to go.

UPDATE: It's now been over a year or two since I first discovered this recipe. Still insanely delicious, easy, and my go-to for guests. Easily one of my favorite things to eat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulever February 22, 2012

The chicken was so tender and the flavors of the bacon and sauce were great. I only had large tomatoes and can see the cherry ones would be better.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound May 12, 2011

Excellent. I 1 1/2d the recipe for 3 of us and used 2 Tablespoons of heavy whipping cream that I had on hand with white wine for the sauce. Delicious! I can see why you make extra to freeze, that is what I intend to do next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy January 27, 2011
Bacon Wrapped Boursin Stuffed Chicken Breasts - a Deux!