20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Incredibly delicious!

I took Charlotte J's suggestion and pre-cooked the bacon for 10 minutes in a 375* oven, then rolling my asparagus and completing the cooking time as suggested.

To bump up the elegance factor for an appetizer, I went one step further for my dinner club by drizzling with a sweet balsamic reduction. The reduction was made of 1 C balsamic vinegar and 2 Tbsp brown sugar. This is brought to a boil, then turned to low and reduced until thickened for 10 minutes (or more depending on the heat of your stovetop.) Interesting interplay of flavors with the sweet reduction, the crisp bacon, and the fresh asparagus. Yum!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleRedChef August 06, 2011

These are excellent! I have made them several times on the grill. Even subbed thin deli ham for the bacon and it was very good also. You might also try rolling the spears in olive oil and sprinkle with seasoning salt before you wrap with bacon or ham for more flavor. Thanks for another great way to eat "greens" :).

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Milkman's Daughter November 07, 2008

I couldn't stop eating these and have made them 3 times this month! Although I have to admit I do cook mine 30-35 min as I like my bacon real crispy and my asparagus soft and tender

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gandafinley March 20, 2008

These were absolutley amazing and so easy to make. I did brush some olive oil on the asparagus and sprinkled with seasoned salt like I read someone else did. Everyone loved them! I can't wait to make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa7096 March 30, 2011

Awesome! I haven't quite figured the exact timing - the crispier bacon was great, but then the asparagus gets slightly overcooked - that did not detract from the taste, just the appearance. Possibly if I pre-nuke or lightly fry the bacon before I wrap it would work. This is a fabulous recipe and would go beautifully alongside a filet mignon or some great seafood. I made it last night with another recipe of a tomato stuffed with brocolli and cheese - a great hit overall! Very tasty, not too difficult and most important enjoyed by all! This is the kind of recipe I look for - simple but very special and very elegant! Thank you for posting Charlotte J!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurita March 29, 2011

Oh I wish I could give more that 5 stars. My family loves this! I baked at 400 for about 40 minutes since we like the bacon a bit on the crispy side.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katherinej88 March 20, 2011

As a family member commented so eloquently, "This beat the c#@? outta your other recipe." Made for PRMR.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 24, 2010

Good, but elevating the bacon out of its own drippings helps keep it from getting soggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarlovinmom March 24, 2013

This couldn't be easier - two ingredients! And tasty tasty tasty! Easy and impressive!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eightball1751 June 15, 2012

This was lovely and incredibly simple and delicious! I have as gas oven which can be a bit slow to cook thing and it took nearer 25mins (originally at mark 6 but then I cranked it up to 7 for the last 5mins) to get the bacon as crispy as I like. I'll probably try grilling next time. A definite keeper though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob May 31, 2012
Bacon-Wrapped Asparagus