24 Reviews

This was amazing! I halved the recipe and cut the tofu very thinly (almost see through in spots) and it crisped up perfectly! I will be making this again and again! Thanks for the great new recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat June 24, 2010

Wow. This was amazing, I just finished some actually. I messed this up a bit, soaked the tofu in the mix, drained it, and then followed the directions. I didn't have nutritional yeast, but it was still really good. I liked it a lot more than bacon, since it doesn't have all the fat and there was no animal involved. Thank you so much, I will definately be making this again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lux1218 June 20, 2010

I saw a recommendation for this recipe in one of the cooking forums. When I looked it up, I was so intrigued by the ingredients that I had to try it. Well, this is unbelievably good, and that's coming from someone who is not a vegetarian. I cut the tofu strips as thin as I could, but I noticed the really thin ones cooked up the crispiest, so next time I'll use my best knife. I also had to adjust the heat on my range to medium, because at low it wasn't getting the strips firm. After turning up the heat, the tofu strips cooked up perfectly. I used half brown sugar and half molasses and the full amount of liquid smoke to swirl around the tofu. I bought the yeast flakes at the health food store around the corner, and they are a key ingredient in this recipe. They really add a bacony-type of flavor and a crispy exterior. My hubby and son tried these also, at my insistence because they really didn't want to try tofu bacon, but after tasting it they both agreed that it was good and didn't taste like tofu. I saved some for my son's vegetarian girlfriend; she loved it, but it did lose some of its crunch by being stored in the fridge. This is a superb recipe. I never would have believed tofu could taste like bacon, but it can.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester May 29, 2010

Oh my, Sharon, this was great! Daughter #2, who's been vegetarian for 14 years now, was smiling as she munched this up. Beats those expensive store offerings hands down. I used a low-sodium soy sauce, and I would have preferred the finished product had been saltier tasting, so next time I'll know what not to do! I also used sucanat instead of brown sugar.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear August 18, 2008

I am new to being vegan and I must say this is awesome recipe! I followed previous comments especially because I dont really like tofu but this is great! I plan on making this more often. Yummmy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whindletonsl8444 September 23, 2011

Delicious! I followed previous reviewers advise and sliced the tofu thinly, which was great advice. We used this in a breakfast sandwich and in a VLT. YUM! Thanks for a another winner, Sharon! Thanks to Cookgirl for recommending this recipe in Best of 2010 Tags!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen March 27, 2011

Sharon, you did it again! This was a simple recipe, and goes wonderfully in sandwiches. As another reviewer said, it would be a great one to keep around as it would have many uses. Now, I've been a veggie for a long time, and I still wouldn't be fooled that it woud be bacon, but still, it's awesome that you can do this with tofu and a few simpe ingredients - thanks, Sharon! Made for Best of 2010 Tag - and will be made again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Best of 2011 Hosts March 25, 2011

All I have to say about this is DELISH!!! We are not a vegetarian family, but we LOVE this! I will say that it is not really that similar to bacon, but it doesn't matter because it is sooo good! It has a bacon flavor, and is delicious and easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleybiro January 13, 2011

Great recipe Sharon! My husband said that it really does taste like bacon!! Huge success there :D Even the texture has that crispy with some chewy. The thinner ones definitely turned out better and the marinade plus nooch was very tasty. Used on BLTs (WICC got the idea in my head and had to try it!). I would recommend using these asap and not letting them sit around or they get too chewy. I was slacking on the getting the sandwiches ready and they cooled off a bit before I had it all together. Thank so much for a keeper Sharon!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 21, 2010

Superb! Won't fool anyone that's it's bacon, but it makes a wonderful sandwich filler -- especially BLTs. I cooked it in my stainless steel pan and probably added too much oil, but after 10 minutes of sticking to the pan, I scraped them up and flipped them over and they looked nice and golden. (I know that doesn't sound all that appetizing, but that's pretty much what I did to make sure they didn't tear.) I cut my strips narrow and thin and used water-packed tofu that had previously been frozen. The glaze is great. This is the recipe that I'll use when trying to convince tofu-skeptics that it's good stuff. I also tried an oil-less batch using Dry-Fried Tofu as the preparation method. Also very good but less crispy. (But not enough less crispy that I wouldn't do it again. Not sure that made sense...what I'm trying to say is the dry fried method is good and doesn't add oil/calories.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook August 08, 2010
Bacon With a Vegan!