15 Reviews

Merry Quichemas! This was breakfast in bed for the wife. Awesome and simple to make. Great instructions. Used my own pie crust recipe. Also did the onion saute thing suggested by others. Everything came out great. No soggy crust. I like quiches to be more eggy, but the flavors were so perfect together, I won't even tweak this recipe. And the wife loved it as much as I did. Do real men eat quiche? Yes, and they'll bake it for their wife too. Thanks for this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catfish Jimmy December 25, 2009

Lovely quiche - beautiful flavours and great consistency! I did use only 3 eggs and more cheese since I don't like my quiches too eggy. Thank you Sue!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee November 22, 2010

Fantastic! Used half and half instead of cream, sharp cheddar cheese and 1/2 chopped onion. Sauteed the onion til translucent first and the spinach to dry it out some. Did not have any bacon but the flavors were remarkable. Lovely recipe. Will try it with mushrooms next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judith Fraser July 27, 2007

Excellent recipe! I only did a few things differently. I baked my pie shell for 8-10 minutes beforehand, just to make sure it wouldn't get soggy. I only used 3 eggs as others have suggested, because I don't like a very eggy quiche. I omitted the cream and added extra swiss cheese instead, because we love cheese (I probably used close to a full cup of shredded swiss). I didn't do things in layers, and I just mixed all of the egg, spinach, bacon, cheese, and spices together before adding it to the pie shell. Lastly, I added some fresh diced tomatoes to the top of each slice before serving. In the end, it might have been drier than some people like their quiche, but we prefer it that way. Thank you for a great recipe! We'll be making this again for sure :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heidi T. October 07, 2014

This quiche is excellent! Per other reviews, I only used 3 eggs, half & half instead of cream, and sharp cheddar cheese. I also sauteed about 1/2 cup of onion first and used plenty of bacon. It came out perfect and I will make this again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MessyChef March 10, 2011

Wow, this was great! Followed a previous reviewers lead and sauted onions in butter and then added drained spinach. Love swiss cheese, so added a little more! The results were magnificent. No soggy crust and lots of cheesey goodness. So good think I'll go have another piece! Thanks Sue for sharing! Made for ZWT 5

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench May 25, 2009

Very good. This was my first time making quiche and my husbands first time eating quiche and it will definitely not be the last. This was delicious. I thought there was going to be too much spinach but it was just perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plynhouse December 30, 2008

I used spicy sauage instead of bacon and added carmelized mushrooms and onion...yumy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bksmith1975 January 18, 2008

I used my own pie shell. I melted the butter and whisked into the eggs, cream and cheese. This was an excellent easy recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
R. Warren Meddoff September 23, 2007
Bacon-Spinach Quiche