Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon, Shrimp, and Corn Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon, Shrimp, and Corn Chowder

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2008

      Instead of the cream and milk I used FF half and half along with 1 can of FF evaporated milk. I used 2 tsp. Tony Chachere's seasoning mix in place of Mrs. Dash seasoning mix too. It added lots of flavor. This soup is so darn good it will have you going back for 2nds and 3rds. Trust me! Thank you Kim for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2006

      I think this is a wonderful soup. I have never used Mrs. Dash before, and it adds some nice flavors. You cannot go wrong with shrimp and bacon together! I used red potatoes and did not peel them. Turned out great! Thanks Kim!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Very tasty. After I cooked the potatoes, I used a potato masher to smoosh them up, to disguise them, since my daughter thinks that the only kind of potatoes she likes are french fries. I also drained the corn before I added it. I used half-n-half and evaporated milk, but didn't add any regular milk, since I thought it was soupy enough. Everybody thought the chowder was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2012

      Sorry this just didn't work out for me as written. Not sure where I went wrong. Followed exactly except doubled. First off, I never really make corn chowders so that could be the problem. Recipe never specified to drain corn so I drained the corn, It had a really off sweet taste. 2nd, I did not add the extra milk as it was already soup consistency after adding the other milks. Was going to eat the same day but could not fix the sweet problem. Put in fridge, ran to store to make another dinner, tried it the following day. Long story short, had to add cream of chicken soup to get past the extremely sweet taste. Then it was pretty good. But with all the good reviews I'm sure I messed it up somewhere. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      Excellent flavor combination. Loved the addition of the shrimp. I used a low fat evaporated milk, 1/2 & 1/2 for the light cream and 2% milk to help with the calorie count and it worked great. I coursely chopped my shrimp also to make for easier eating. Will make this again. Thanks so much for sharing. Made for PRMR :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      My husband and I prepared this together last night precisely as the recipe states. It smelled heavenly while cooking. Brought the teenage boy scrambling down the steps to inquire what was for dinner. He was utterly devastated to find out it was for tonight's dinner. DH and I had decided to get a sneak taste and had some for lunch... Delicious! Thanks for a spectacular chowder :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I loved this! I did change up the Mrs. Dash...used 1 tsp original, 1 tsp garlic & herb, and then used 1 tsp Old Bay for the seasonings. I used some Cavendar's Greek and left out the salt and pepper. I also left the milk out, otherwise, my chowder would have been too liquidy. I can't imagine adding anymore liquid, or the chowder would be too thin. Made for PRMR tag, and I thoroughly enjoyed the tag! Thanks for posting a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      I was orginally from Boston, moved to North Carolina four years ago. They don't make good chowders like New England. I was so excited to have this fabulous recipe to serve my husband and southern friends who said it was out of this world and requested this everytime we have a cookout or a party. Thanks for sharing !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2008

      Awesome! My dh, who does not care for corn chowders, said, "This is pretty good!" and went back for seconds! When he was finished he commented, "That was some pretty good eating!" High praise from a many who doesn't care for corn in his soups! Very good flavors and easy to make. I used frozen sweet corn and I did use fat-free evaporated milk and half&half in place of the light cream, just to cut down on calories, but it was still nice and creamy. I used "Chef's Blend" seasoning, which is just like Mrs. Dash so I don't think it changed the outcome. Thank you for a delicous meal we are going to repeat many times!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      This was delicious. I used half/half instead of cream and because I had it for dinner the day I made it, I did have to thicken it a bit with a slurry, since it was a bit soupy. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      Loved it. Everyone did, even the one that's not crazy about shrimp. I didn't have any light cream so used 2 cans of evaporated milk and no bacon but used the bacon pieces found by the salad dressing/croutons in the grocery store. Still turned out great. Made it Monday night for Tuesday dinner. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Oh, Kim! This is so tasty! I made as directed however, reducing the milk to 1/2 cup. Very simple to make. If this tastes even better the second day, I can't wait!! I hope there will be some left to try ; ) Thanks, Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon, Shrimp, and Corn Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (575 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1068.4
     
    Calories from Fat 695
    65%
    Total Fat 77.2 g
    118%
    Saturated Fat 41.9 g
    209%
    Cholesterol 369.4 mg
    123%
    Sodium 1163.3 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.9 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 38.1 g
    76%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes