Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon Scones

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 29, 2014

      Wow, my friend, wow. These scones are too die for. So good, great texture and amazing flavor. I made these exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing. I made half the batch and turned them into two large size buns. Which I then served as a base for Sloppy Joes' for a truly decadent treat. The biscuits were perfect, crisp on the outside and tender on the inside just the way I love them. What a great flavor, love the addition of the savory items in this recipe. You could taste the bacon, cheese and onion in every bite. Thank you for sharing this very special recipe that has gone into my Favorites Cookbook for 2014. Kudos to you, I can't wait to make these again. Made for Best of 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Nothing short of scrumptious. I used some lightly sauteed onion and added all of the bacon into the scones because I was concerned it getting to hard sitting up there on top. I made 4 scones (1/2 the recipe) and DH and myself made all 4 vanish. Thanks much for a marvelous brunch scone they were perfect with your Country Scrambled Eggs this morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      Made for ZWT-8 because DH & I are both scone lovers. I know recent memory is always the most vivid, but my palate is telling me these are the best scones I've ever eaten. The texture is perfect - not at all dry like scones can occ be. Unlike other reviewers who freq used green onion, I used re-hydrated minced dry onion, avoided any chopping & found the onion flavor present in exactly the right proportion. That said, I otherwise made these scones as written until - In my haste I added all the bacon & mixed it into the dough, so had none left to "sprinkle". You'll see in the pic that they have an unusual square shape (for scones anyway). That's because I used a new "pyramid-shaped" acrylic baking form DH bought for me & you can't see the point of the pyramid. Thx for sharing this recipe w/us. I have to go now - The scones are disappearing faster than I can type. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2010

      These were quite good. I used green onion, as others suggested, and didn't care for the texture. Next time, I will use regular onion or shallot. The bacon needs to be VERY crisp before going into the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      WOW these are the best savoury scones I have had. The DS and I polished off 6 (he had 4 and I had 2) with our Pumpkin Soup With Curry and Basil. I used 4 pieces of rindless end bacon (very little fat) which I cooked in the oven and then crumbled. For the cheese though I added a tablespoon of greated parmesan to the mix with the cheddar (sharp vintage). Thank you diner524, made for Went to Market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      These were yummy and easy to make. I used green onions instead of regular onion. I scored these into 4 instead of 8 pieces. We enjoyed them with soup for a light meal. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      These were great. We made little mini scones and served them up as appetizers with some garlic butter. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Yummm!! Had this for breakfast this morning and all was good! I also used green onions (including the green tops) as they needed to be used up. Used an extra-sharp cheddar as well. Also, I find it much easier to slice my bacon (3 strips at a time) into a thin dice before hand and cook them that way, then just scoop them out with a slotted spoon onto paper towels. Thanks for posting, Diner. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      I have never made (or eaten) a scone before so didn't know what kind of texture I would end up with...These are amazing! Sort of the texture of a buttermilk or bisquick biscuit. I used green onions and otherwise made as is. Both DS's ate them up!! I just told 4yr DS the green onions were 'seasonings' and he dug right in. DH worked late and had to warm his in the microwave and it was still good, not dried out. Made for Newest Zaar 5/2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.6
     
    Calories from Fat 128
    52%
    Total Fat 14.2 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 78.0 mg
    26%
    Sodium 418.9 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites