8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I fully agree that no sugar is needed! I added a scant tsp and wish I hadn't. I had to doctor this recipe up so much I prefer not to rate it. The problem with lite & low sodium mayo (& other products) is that they replace salt/fat with sugar! If you want low-sodium mayo, it's best to make it yourself. I recommend Celtic sea salt, which is twice as salty (so you use half as much), contains 20% less sodium than table salt, and contains essential minerals the body needs. It's pricey but a small bag lasts (me) about 2 years. Much more important than low sodium is bacon without nitrites or nitrates, which are salts that wreak havoc on the cardio-vascular system.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annwhal March 11, 2015

This is a delicious dressing. I used 1/2 cup buttermilk in total: I made the dressing in a blender to assure creaminess and then thinned it out a bit for pourability.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianeinpa_13027984 September 11, 2014

Made a hyge batch of this to go with a simple salad for a bridal shower and it got rave reviews. Everyone wanted to know where it came from. YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carriefrances gibson April 07, 2009

Why buy store bought when this is the best tasting bacon ranch dressing i have ever had?--------Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bluenoser April 05, 2007

Even using low fat mayo, this is full of flavor. I hate the stuff and thought that if all these herbs and spices were added, it wouldn't taste so bad. I skipped the sugar and added a little additional dill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 March 24, 2007

I made this to use in Turkey Sandwich Supreme (Serves Six). It was great in the sandwich and also made a tasty dip. Mine was pretty thick, though, and I think it would have needed to be thinned some to use as a salad dressing. I didn't use low-sodium ingredients, but did use reduced-fat products where possible and subbed 1/4 teaspoon dried dill for the fresh. Thanks Miller--you left a wonderful legacy here.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ February 09, 2007

Wow! That's some good dressing!!! We didn't use the low-sodium products and for that reason, just ignored the salt substitute. This is GREAT STUFF! Rich, creamy, sweet, tangy, just dill-y enough and those wonderful tidbits of bacon!- Mmmm!!! We used Neiman Ranch applewood smoked bacon. It's the perfect consistancy that you expect ranch to be- as you said, perfect for salads or dipping. BF's been hogging it. :P Thanks for posting! This one's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie September 09, 2004

This is great. I didn't worry about the low-sodium mayonaise but did use low fat buttermilk. And I didn't put in the bacon and just put bacos on top.This is so good that I don't plan on buying regular salad dressing again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cset June 27, 2003
Bacon Ranch Dressing