Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon-Onion Appetizers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon-Onion Appetizers

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2002

      This was very easy and quite yummy. I sauted the onions and parsley in the butter and then added the bacon. It spread more easily. I also had trouble with the dough wanting to pull apart, so I just worked quickly and left the rolls on their side. No need to flatten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      These are delicious! I must admit, though, that I made several modifications to the recipe as posted. Here are my changes: I used softened cream cheese in place of the butter, I used garlic, thyme & rosemary in place of the parsley, and I added mushrooms & shredded asiago cheese. I pulsed the mushrooms & onions in a food processor, then sauteed them in a little butter w/ the garlic, thyme & rosemary. After they had cooled, I combined them with the softened cream cheese, crumbled bacon, & asiago cheese. Instead of creating pinwheels, I simply spread the mixture generously on half of the crescent-roll-triangles, then topped with the remaining triangles. I baked at 375 until golden (about 12 min), let everything cool for a few minutes, then cut each large triangles into 3 smaller triangles, arranged, & served. There's the pizzazz another reviewer was looking for! The resulting complexity of flavor stood up quite well to the crescent-roll dough. With my changes, the recipe made 24 instead of 32 servings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2009

      YUM!! These are so quick and easy to make and soo tasty!! I used dried parsley and also sauteed my onion with the bacon as I hate raw onion. Next time I think I will add a little parmasean.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      For some reason I have a hard time working with crescent rolls. But not this time. These are easy and delicious. Will definetly make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Quick and easy to prepare......I just thought that they were lacking that certain 'something' if you know what I mean. They were very tasty and I would make them again...but perhaps with some more pizzazz. Now if only I knew what pizzazz that would be!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Fantastic! I just pulled these out of the oven for a party today and they'll be lucky if they make it there!! It is so easy and they taste great. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      These really are awesome! Everyone wanted the recipe. You can even lower the fat count by using turkey bacon and light margarine or save time by using ready made bacon (just crumble it)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      These were so good! I made them for a Christmas appetizer and the first batch was gone before the second batch came out of the oven! I had several people ask me for the recipe so they could bring them to a New Years party!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This was quite yummy. i didn't have fresh parsley so i used dried. It still was delicious, but i'm sure it would be even better w/ fresh parsley. i also used the lower fat cresent rolls. Fantastic appetizer, Swimmin'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      This is good and easy. It's a Pillsbury recipe and I recommend using the Pillsbury Crescent rolls - I've made this with others and it's not the same. If you are doing this for a party make lots because they go fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2007

      These are very good. I have made this several times so far. Ive replaced cream cheese for butter once and that tasted great. I even made these a day ahead of time and popped them in the fridge and baked them the next day. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Hi Nurse Di, these are beyond fantastic! I sauteed the onions in a little of the butter and then I combined all together. They never made it out of the kitchen, so we had to start all over again!! This time we got smart - I tripled the recipe. I cook my bacon in the oven and it turned out nice and crispy, and crumbly. Sauteed onions with the fresh parsley, mixed all together with the soft butter - made for extra delicious pinwheels. Thank you so much for sharing such an easy, peasy, yummy recipe, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      This was very good. I made this as part of our New Years Day appetizers. I found that not all them stayed together, but for the most part, most of them did. They were still yummy. I didn't have cresent dough, but biscuit dough. I followed the recipe other than that. They were very good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      I gave the 4 star rating only because i really liked the filling but found the dough took over. Will try again with a different pastry, maybe phyllo. Was very easy to put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

    • on April 18, 2005

    • on September 01, 2003

      We are going on a camping trip to a car show next weekend and I tried these out to take. I also used the refrigerated pizza crust because I had it on hand, and sauteed the onions with the bacon. On the tops I sprinkled parmesan cheese too. These are very tasty, and easy to make. I am going to double the batch and bring them on our trip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2003

      These were great, I must confess though that I cheated and used a tube of pizza dough and just cut it into rounds and baked, but they were wonderful. Next time I`m going to use the crescent rolls.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon-Onion Appetizers

    Serving Size: 1 (666 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 68.4
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    45%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 13.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 94.7 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes