18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very easy and quite yummy. I sauted the onions and parsley in the butter and then added the bacon. It spread more easily. I also had trouble with the dough wanting to pull apart, so I just worked quickly and left the rolls on their side. No need to flatten.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frau Frau August 13, 2002

These are delicious! I must admit, though, that I made several modifications to the recipe as posted. Here are my changes: I used softened cream cheese in place of the butter, I used garlic, thyme & rosemary in place of the parsley, and I added mushrooms & shredded asiago cheese. I pulsed the mushrooms & onions in a food processor, then sauteed them in a little butter w/ the garlic, thyme & rosemary. After they had cooled, I combined them with the softened cream cheese, crumbled bacon, & asiago cheese. Instead of creating pinwheels, I simply spread the mixture generously on half of the crescent-roll-triangles, then topped with the remaining triangles. I baked at 375 until golden (about 12 min), let everything cool for a few minutes, then cut each large triangles into 3 smaller triangles, arranged, & served. There's the pizzazz another reviewer was looking for! The resulting complexity of flavor stood up quite well to the crescent-roll dough. With my changes, the recipe made 24 instead of 32 servings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iwendyiwanda September 02, 2011

YUM!! These are so quick and easy to make and soo tasty!! I used dried parsley and also sauteed my onion with the bacon as I hate raw onion. Next time I think I will add a little parmasean.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phoenix 0880 December 30, 2009

For some reason I have a hard time working with crescent rolls. But not this time. These are easy and delicious. Will definetly make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naturelover December 01, 2009

Quick and easy to prepare......I just thought that they were lacking that certain 'something' if you know what I mean. They were very tasty and I would make them again...but perhaps with some more pizzazz. Now if only I knew what pizzazz that would be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
colleenannford February 26, 2009

Fantastic! I just pulled these out of the oven for a party today and they'll be lucky if they make it there!! It is so easy and they taste great. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmarques77 January 01, 2009

These really are awesome! Everyone wanted the recipe. You can even lower the fat count by using turkey bacon and light margarine or save time by using ready made bacon (just crumble it)!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sanched10 October 29, 2008

These were so good! I made them for a Christmas appetizer and the first batch was gone before the second batch came out of the oven! I had several people ask me for the recipe so they could bring them to a New Years party!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyclone*Mommy January 06, 2008

This was quite yummy. i didn't have fresh parsley so i used dried. It still was delicious, but i'm sure it would be even better w/ fresh parsley. i also used the lower fat cresent rolls. Fantastic appetizer, Swimmin'.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover October 19, 2007

This is good and easy. It's a Pillsbury recipe and I recommend using the Pillsbury Crescent rolls - I've made this with others and it's not the same. If you are doing this for a party make lots because they go fast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarielC April 08, 2007
Bacon-Onion Appetizers