Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon Lettuce &Tomato Layered Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon Lettuce &Tomato Layered Salad

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2003

      Rita, this is a fantastic salad. Made it for a barbecue this week-end and everybody went crazy over it. I had to double the recipe as we had 18 guests and it came out perfect. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2003

      rita, this is great, i always love the insides of a sndwich but hate the calories of the bread! i omitted the grease from the bacon, i microwave mine to get rid of it all.i also omitted the sugar, my dd is on atkins maintenance. she omitted croutons, i added hers to mine, great salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      This stuff is addictive! I freeze fresh basil in olive oil in ice cube trays, transfer to a bag, and always have fresh when I want it! My tomatoes were too ripe, so I drained 28 ounces of canned diced in a wire strainer and used those. I think that is what eliminated the "wateriness" that someone else complained about. Otherwise, made as written and thoroughly enjoyed for 2 days after initially enjoying with a steak for dinner. BF (who is strictly meat and potatoes) even asked if I could make it again next week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      This was such a hit I made this for the 4th of July and it had many raves.. Thanks for posting such a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      We made this last night and LOVED it! You know what though? I forgot to get the fresh basil; not sure if that greatly impacted the taste. I did put some dried basil....not the same, I know. But nevertheless, we enjoyed it very much, and will make this again. Made homemade croutons, and it tasted like a BLT. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This is my family's favorite salad. I have made it 2 times, once with fresh basil and once with dry. It was good both times! Toss it together and get some bread sticks and you have a meal. Next time I am going to try it with peas and cucumbers. Thanks for a great recipe that everyone loves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This was a very good salad. Everyone in my family liked it. Quick and easy to make. Thanks for posting such a lovely salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Made this for a Labor Day BBQ. I added avocado to the top and it was so good! Next time, I will double the dressing and make two layers. The dressing would be good on anything! Be sure and use fresh basil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This salad was awesome!! I made for large dinner at my home & everyone loved it! My husband- who doesn't eat salad- really liked it also! Doubled the dressing recipe & made it into a layered salad in clear, wide bowl. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      What a great take on a layered salad. The dressing is outstanding and the fresh basil is a must. My guests went back for seconds and kept commenting on how good it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      This was an excellent salad. Dressing packed a punch and I loved the basil flavor. I used 4 tomatoes. Keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2008

      Made this for lunch the other day and it was really good. My blender had problems mixing the dressing, but they is no fault of the recipe. I added a little milk to thin it out and a smidge of already prepared ranch dressing. We had a huge head of lettuce and i like alot of dressing. Didn't do the chill time, and it was still delish! Great travel recipe. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Rita, this was the talk of the BBQ this weekend. I doubled the recipe and added dry ranch salad dressing instead of seasoning salt which i don't like, only because my sister cooked everything it. i had shared the recipe with four friend since Monday. Faye W, in Atl. Ga.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      I love the dressing. It's almost like a ranch dressing. I used dry basil (1/2 teaspoon cause I did half the recipe). In fact, I love the salad all together. I didn't let it chill. I think I'm going to try it for my lunches at work. Thanks Rita. Made for Zaar Star Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This was AWESOME!!!!! I converted it down to 1 serving and it was so easy to make!!!! I just used about a 1/2 tsp. dried basil for the fresh, and subbed rice vinegar for the white cuz that's what I had on hand. I also used cukes instead of onions because my onions are SO STRONG right now. But will be making this all summer long, and will add onions when they're a bit sweeter! But the cukes were GREAT in it!! I can't wait to make this again!!! Thanks so much for a fantastic recipe!!! :) LOVED it!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      This had great flavor and was a breeze to prepare. I made it for our Easter dinner and everyone loved it. My only complaint is that it doesn't keep well. I went to get some the next day and it was very very watery. I will just make a "half" batch next time as I am not going to let a little water stop me...lol. Thank you for a tasty salad that I am looking forward to making again this summer.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      I made this salad for our thanksgiving meal and it was a hit. It definitely tastes like a blt and was a nice change of pace from the traditional layered salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      mmm....this is good - i used about half as much lettuce and layered it in trifel bowl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      I doubled the recipe for a Labor Day potluck. Five of my friend are on weight watchers so I lightened the recipe by using lite mayo, lite sour cream, and splenda. At the end of the evening my dish was gone, and I had received several compliments. I served this in a clear glass ice bucket and made two layers of the lettuce, tomatoes, onions and dressing. What a pretty presentation and it saved space on the buffet table, too! I did have a little dressing left over, so today I used it with a salad of romaine, bacon, tomato, onion and croutons. It was just as delicious as the layered variety. This is a great variation on the traditional layered salad. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      Oh my! This salad was so easy to put together and full of flavor. I liked it because I got to use up some of my fresh summer tomatoes. I hate store bought ones so I think that this will be a summer treat. The dressing is fantastic...bursting with flavor. Thank you,thank you,thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon Lettuce &Tomato Layered Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 636.6
     
    Calories from Fat 486
    76%
    Total Fat 54.0 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 68.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1094.7 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites