Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon Gravy

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2011

      This is a really good recipe. We were raised on bacon gravy over toast or biscuits or mashed potatoes... My only problem is with the instruction, "Discard all but 2 tablespoons of the bacon grease." Nooooooooooo! You save the extrq bacon grease in a sealed container in the fridge for other uses. You might as well throw away money because you have enough. ;-) This is a really good recipe. I urge you to try it. It's better than sausage gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      I grew up with bacon gravy, but its seems that the only kind you ever find anywhere is sausage gravy. My mother always cut the raw bacon into bits then fried it up til it was extremely crispy. Then proceeded from there. Oh...its sooooo good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      We grew up on Bacon gravy, and there's no better summer breakfast to be had than Bacon Gravy, Biscuits, and fresh from the garden Tomatos. Yum-Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      I also made this the first time because because I didn't have any sausage. Now I make it just because we love it. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I made this four times (in one week!) before I stopped constantly craving it. Of course, I had to have biscuits (Ray Gregg's Batch Biscuits (Southern Style)) with it too! I'm not going on the scale for a while! Thank you for sharing, Panhandle Sam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Mmm, gravy! This is the way my mom always made it for us growing up. The only thing I do different is cut the bacon up before cooking. Thanks for posting! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      I also grew up on this stuff. From Grundy, Va. Love it! Has a much richer flavor than sausage gravy.Thank-you Panhandle Sam for posting.Oh by the way, making a southern man outta my PA hubby. And he said he'd never eat the stuff.lol He love's it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I still prefer sausage gravy, but I, too, found myself without any sausage on hand when I needed to make gravy. This is very good. I used slightly less than 2 tablespoons of bacon grease (from a tub I keep in the fridge), and then I added in 6 slices of turkey bacon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      This was really good I thoroughly enjoyed it and my ds ate every bite of it. I did use a mixture of half milk and half half and half and it was delicious. I will make this again for sure! Made for Fall PAC 2008.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      Great recipe! I have made this 2 times in the past 2 weeks to go on our breakfast pizza...sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This was a nice change from always having sausage gravy. It was a quick easy breakfast and my husband really liked. Thanks Panhandle Sam. Bullwinkle

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      The only way I like biscuits and gravy. Mmm- bacony goodness!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      i love bacon gravy we have this all the time i am not a sausage person so this is a great way to have biscits and gravy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      Very easy to make! Great flavorI Trying this gravy was a nice change from beef or chicken gravy. I loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      I have missed sausage gravy and bacon gravy! Since I have been gluten free and mostly lactose free, I have had to change my diet a lot! Today, I decided to go for the bacon gravy and loved it! I used gluten free flour ( today I chose Pamela's baking and Pancake Mix... Which is not lactose free, but works well with me) and I used Lactose free milk! It was delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      Ate something like this as a kid. Gosh it was good with fresh made buttemilk biscuits. I can't imagine how my blood manages to flow through my arteries now after a childhood of food like that. Nevermind that - I'm gonna make this for dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2012

      The important thing about this recipe is that the proportions are correct. This is the right ratio of fat to flour and liquid to roux. Maybe that sounds like a small thing, but it's actually crucial. And the technique is right.

      Thank you. This was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Yeah bacon gravy!!! My dad made this for us all the time growing up. His southern mama taught him to deeply brown, but not burn, the flour in the grease before adding milk for a richer flavor, then LOTS if pepper and salt to taste. Most of my friends loved it, but a few thought it was terrible. To each his own!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      I tried making this. I followed the recipe to a t. It was awful. A complete waste. It tasted like pure flower. I tried everything to fix it, added more grease, more milk, nothing worked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 205.1
     
    Calories from Fat 146
    71%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.1 g
    35%
    Cholesterol 31.3 mg
    10%
    Sodium 169.4 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites