9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this!!! I make it several times a year for Sunday football gatherings. If you really want to go all out, you can roll a pork tenderloin or venison steak/tenderloin up in the middle of it. I usually use venison, and all of my friends hover around the platter until it's all gone. I slow cook mine in the oven at 250 degrees until my meat thermo says it's done. If you want a crazy-crispy roll, flip it over and broil the bottom at the end of cooking to crisp up the bacon on the bottom.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhi's Mama August 07, 2013

A buddy of mine from Mississippi found this recipe and we made it... Awesome, there was none left. We slow cooked it on the grill for about 5 hours (As my southern friend says-In the south food always taste better when it is cooked for long periods of time- maybe because it took so long we were just hungry) This is not something you make all the time it is not healthy at all, but it sure is good. This is a guys meal-NOT- my daughters and their friends loved it...

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daddy'scookin May 01, 2012

My husband found this on a blog and was determined to make it, but it was raining, so he did it in a hot oven instead, which worked, but unfortunately he overcooked it. He used only one pound of bacon and my turkey sausage recipe here on zaar to make it not quite so artery clogging. He created his own bbq sauce and used the top rated Kansas City rub recipe here on zaar. It kind of turned out like a jazzed up meatloaf, but I think if he had pulled it out of the oven sooner (or bbq'd it), it would have been even more yummy. Maybe would have been better to use the full amount of bacon, too, just to up the fat content since our sausage wasn't pork.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Literary Mom March 13, 2009

I don't know why one must eat this wonderful dish with something called football, what ever that is but it's just the perfect breakfast to start off the day while watching a marathon of The Walking Dead. Instead of Italian sausage I'll use mild breakfast sausage, runny sunny side up eggs on top of bacon fat fried potatoes. Talk about getting a wonderful pork fix.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slo_cook January 28, 2015

I'm giving this 4 stars (just for now, lol) for the great instructions and thank you for the wonderful construction photos! I can't wait to try this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nina22541 January 17, 2015

We tried this recipe this past fall. We did put it in the smoker. It turned out too dry and a bit overpowering. Maybe it was the slices we served. It is definitely an artery clogging meal. We ended up using more BBQ on it. We did use it as a base for fried eggs with some hollandaise sauce. Probably won't do again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jogaberic January 07, 2015

Well, I love bacon and sausage, but this was just too much for us. I baked it in the oven at 225 degrees until it registered done on the thermometer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks January 04, 2015

I make 2 Bacon Explosions several times a year.... Pot-Luck pre-season Baseball meeting, Thanksgiving, company Christmas parties, etc... <br/>I've documented it once on my homepage http://therideinstyle.com/baconexplosion.htm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian H. November 27, 2013

This is a great recipe! I saw it several years ago on the smokingmeats.com website and I think Jeff Phillips added his version to his new cookbook. Other than the fillings, it's about the same. One tip he uses is to use a gallon sized ziploc bag to roll out the sausage, just put it in the bag and seal it then snip a very small piece of the corners off to let the air escape then roll or smash it out. It forms the perfect sized rectangle of meat and the thickness is very uniform. Cheese and Jalapenos and onions and bacon and greens are all good filling choices. It can be made with turkey bacon and turkey sausage but why??? Thanks for helping get this great smoking recipe out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hoosiersmoker September 11, 2012
Bacon Explosion!