39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

these are awesome! My sister has been making these for a few years.. and they never fail to disappear! The only difference in the way we do them, is we wrap the bacon around the weinies and bakefor 25 minutes on a broiler pan to get rid of some of the fat, then layer them in a crockpot with the brown sugar and keep on low for a couple of hours.. YUM!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GertieGirl December 22, 2009

These were fantastic, everyone loved them. I think good bacon makes a big difference here. I used uncured maple bacon. Also, I ended up mixing light and dark brown sugar. I made them up the night before, put the sugar on top, and then stuck them in the fridge. The sugar and fat interacted and dissolved overnight. I was a little worried at first, but they came out fine. It meant they did not have as much of the crunchy sugar on top, but there was a lot of great syrup to swirl them in, making them almost candy-coated. I was also a bit worried about the consistency of the bacon because I hate floppy bacon, but it was actually great. It was not crisp, but it was completely cooked and did not have that feeling that undercooked bacon has. I did end up cooking mine longer than recommended, probably up to an hour, but the oven may not have been up to temperature. Also, let these cool a good long time before you serve them, especially if you cook them in a pyrex pan that holds the heat! They sizzled for 5 whole minutes after I took them out of the oven.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyRatri May 15, 2011

No one can say no to these. I roll them in the sugar and sprinkle a bit on top. I also use a baking rack so they don't stick to bad and the bacon grease drains away. If you have never made them, you must try them!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RepoGuysWife November 29, 2011

This qualifies as a Vintage recipe. I've made it for MANY years. A great appetizer! You can make them ahead and freeze them, then cook for 1-1/2 hours. If you have some of the brown sugar mix left after eating, put it in baked beans. Yum.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski January 28, 2008

OMG.....these are amazing. DS#2 requested these for our football party so I gave them a shot. Yummy, they will now be a regular for us at the football games. They are so good. And really simple to prepare. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour September 04, 2011

Just tried it and looks fantastic!! aroma is great as well. Only complaint of my own fault would be highly recommending the use on a broiler pan or something which releases the bacon fat away to allow them to crispin up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Michael#1504866 December 31, 2009

Thats good recipe Im surprised no one mentioned,using pineapple juice with brown sugar poured over those weiners too

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
David N. November 14, 2013

These are ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!! I have even made them with turkey bacon and they still come out great!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daosorio77 August 06, 2009

This is a really nice way to make cocktail wienies. I had these at a baby shower, and the only thing that was done differently was the fact that the hostess made these in a crockpot and cooked them on low heat for several hours-sweet and smoky. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Peacock December 20, 2007

I have been making this recipe for years - it's true- it is ALWAYS a hit. I use about 1.5 to 2 cups of brown sugar. (that may be close to a pound). I always get questions about how to make them and requests to bring them to gatherings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-OceanGirl- August 24, 2007
Bacon Cocktail Weenies