12 Reviews

This chicken recipe has become a favorite in our family! I'd made it 4-5 times when I realized I had never reviewed it yet -- hands down, it has to be in the Top 10 of all the chicken dishes I've ever made. This last time I used bone-in chicken breasts and just adjusted the cooking time a little. I also omitted the salt as did other reviewers because of the bacon. The first few times I used cheddar cheese in the recipe but I tried a mixture of cheddar/colby this time and really liked it. The colby is a little milder and is nice and creamy when melted. What else can I say -- this recipe is the best of the best. THANK YOU for sharing it with us.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester September 28, 2011

Chickenlicious! I added a half cup of celery when cooking the onions, and topped the whole thing with 1/2 teaspoon of chopped basil and a couple shakes of paprika across the top before cooking. Loved it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susanhendrich January 22, 2014

Gailanng this dish is wonderful. Thank you so much for sharing this special treat with all of us. The only change I made was to use a medium cheddar. The dish was quick and easy to make. Loved the flavors of this dish. Cheese, onion, bacon and chicken. The chicken was moist and tender, cooked perfectly. Even the picky dh cleaned his plate. Into my keeperbox this goes. Made for my Pac baby. :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato April 21, 2010

This was delicious! I didn't have any onions so I used a packet of dry onion soup mix. Easy and everyone loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany C. March 12, 2014

We loved it! The chicken was so moist and yummy! I used cheddar cheese, and would really love to try it with Monterrey Jack. Thanks gailann!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 07, 2012

All I can say is wow! This is my third time making this recipe and I realized I had not given it a rating. My only change was using hot pepper cheese instead of cheddar or colby. It was what I had on hand! Thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka December 22, 2010

You know you have a winner when the kids are speechless, except for occasional MMMMmmm, and when are you going to make this again.. Made recipe as posted though I did use cheddar cheese, I have to admit this was one of the best tasting chicken recipes I have tried, and I do eat alot of chicken. Thanks for posting this recipe, and adding it to my fav's of 2010 !!! Made for RecipeSwap #45..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker October 18, 2010

Easy, quick and delicious as promised. I omitted the salt. Made for Everyday Holiday tag. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama July 28, 2010

Yummy! This was pretty easy and tasted fantastic. My family loved it. They were licking their plates. Thanks, GailAnn!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night June 11, 2010

Another hit in my household :) This one is a keeper. <br/>I substituted the olive oil for coconut oil. I also omitted the salt. For the cheese, I used a combination of Colby & Monterey Jack, Triple Cheddar, and Mozzarella[with a touch of Philadelphia] shredded cheeses[all Kraft]. YUM. I loved everything about this recipe. Husband cheerfully said it was good. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy'sfood October 21, 2014
Bacon Chicken