8 Reviews

My husband and I really liked the flavor but it was a bit dry. My kids were not too crazy about it (I was really suprised about this!) It was not very appealing to look at and that might have had a lot to do with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 April 15, 2011

I was looking for recipes to stock my freezer with and came across this one, which was made on 6/22/10. Since all I had on hand was tomato sauce, that was used instead of the soup. And because my SO is a salt freak, the full amount of soup mix was used. And I'm a bacon freak, so the full amount was used. Since I was just making half the recipe, ( which was a HUGE mistake :) ) one cup of cheese was used. Before finishing up the dish, a bite or two was tasted and I decided it need a bit of something so a shake or two of crushed red pepper flakes were added.For the photo a garnish was added, I sprinkled a bit of cheese and parsley flakes on top. Without the addition of the red pepper flakes, I think this a very good " Kid Friendly " recipe. Thank you for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � June 23, 2010

Just realized I didn't review this! My family loved this! I agree with the other reviewers on only using 4 cups of rice may be better, but we used 5 and it was still good. We added more cheese than called for, but we do in most recipes lol I made 2 batches of this one for immed and one for the freezer. Both turned out perfect! *UPDATE* I switched out the tomato soup for cheddar cheese soup and it's even better! YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 March 23, 2010

No matter how hard I try, I just can't get into this one. It's too "oniony" for me. I really think you could leave out the onion soup mix and just cook the ground beef with chopped onion. I ended up having to add 1/2 can of water, 2 tablespoons ketchup, and 1 tablespoon mustard just to get it to where it was decent for me. Dh loves it. I don't think I can make it again, though. I'd like to see if there are some changes I could make to make it a little more palatable. They'd have to be some extreme changes, though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2Cook/Hate2Clean:) March 11, 2010

The flavour was really good and it was easy to make, but I thought it was a little dry. I only made 4 cups of rice and I think that was too much. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberley March 24, 2007

Very easy. 5 cups of rice would have been too much - 4 was plenty. My hubby and I both think it's more like 3 stars (edible, repeatable, but not a fav), but the kid loved it! (and how many dishes can you say that about?!) So it gets 4 stars. I added some pictures so you can see what it looks like - I put mine in a 9x13 pan even though it gets served right away.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan Williams November 04, 2005

Made this past weekend as part of Pick-A-Chef 2005. The flavors blend well and my fiancé thought it was real tasty. It seemed to me, though, that 5 cups of rice was a bit too much. It was extremely thick and a bit hard to stir at the end. When I get leftovers out of the freezer I'll add some additional tomato soup and I'm sure it'll be fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani October 10, 2005

Just to update my earlier review...I found the package of rice I had stowed in the freezer and had it for supper Sunday....still very tasty ! I had forgotten to date the package, and didn't realize it had been in the freezer since May ! It's good to know it can last at least 4 months !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri Newell September 12, 2005
Bacon Cheeseburger Rice (Oamc)