34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This meatloaf was very "rich" tasting, almost too much. We were not able to finish it. I did not use the onions. I cooked the meatloaf the full 55 minutes, and measured its temperature at 140 F. I let it stand for 10 minutes before trying to cut it. I didn't find it mushy at all. I used preshredded cheese (mild, by mistake) so maybe the added starch helped. I made this in a 9X9 Pyrex, but I would use a bigger one next time in order to make serving easier. I would like to try the onions if I do make this again and - I can't believe I'm saying this! - cut it in 6 instead of 4 servings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch December 01, 2009

I followed some advice from others and only used 1 egg, doubled the bread crumbs, and added 2 slices of bread at the bottom of my loaf pan. I uppsed the time to 60 minutes and the temp to 375. I also used my Pampered Chef stone loaf, so I don't know if that made a difference, but the meatloaf was AWESOME. I can't really tolerate bread anymore, so this really satisfied my craving for a burger.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandycakes77 November 21, 2009

I made this last night. And I have to say I had the same problem many others did with it being mushy after being cooked. So what I did was cranked up the heat, cooked it longer with tin foil on top, and then after pulling out of the oven, let it set up for a few minutes on the stove. It did seem to make it a lot better and manageable that way. I think letting it sit out was what did wonders for it. This was a great tasting and rich meatloaf! It was very good. Next time when I make it Im going to put only 1 egg, half the cheese, and maybe a little extra breadcrumbs. Then increase the baking temp to 400 degrees. I think if you follow those steps, you wont end up with a mushy meatloaf. Also this makes AWESOME meatloaf sandwiches the next day! YUM its so good! Even if you dont like it for dinner, dont throw it away!! Put it in the fridge, and the next day cut a piece off, put some mayo on a bun and smoosh it together. Then you have an awesome lunch! Like others have already said, when paula made this on the show she put bread slices on the bottom of dish to soak up the grease. Also double the ketchup/mustard mixture and she added a few tbs. of brown sugar to make it more bbq tasting. Very good recipe. I will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*pink* November 12, 2009

Wow, this was yummy...However, I'm not sure if I'll be making it very often b/c quite frankly, it's like having a heart attack on a plate!!! I subbed with 2% cheese, fat free mayo, and cut away most of the fat off the bacon. It was ooooohhhhh soooooo good though!!! Definitely a treat! I did add a little dijon into the mix and used straight bbq sauce on the top. I took the advice of someone else and placed the loaf on top of bread slices. I actually lined the entire bottom of the pan with bread and it made cleaning the pan afterward insanely easy b/c nothing stuck to the pan anywhere! The bread turned into a fat soaked toast that sadly my husband ate lol He was in the field for a few weeks so he had been missing real food. Oh it also took a really long time to cook the whole way through. Next time I think I will bump up the temp half way through. It may have something to do with all the bread on the bottom. Anyways, it was delish...I served along oven roasted sweet potatoes. Great combo:) Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley S. October 04, 2009

YUCK, I did not enjoy the flavor of this one bit. Mine did not even slice into meatloaf but came out of the pan in a mushy mess. I followed the recipe to a tee so not sure what went wrong. Hubby ate it so I gave it 2 stars but he asked me to not make it again. This is not uncommon for a PD recipe to totally flop. I do think I am done trying her recipes for awhile (nothing against the original poster here)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Petunia May 30, 2009

My family enjoyed this. The only changes were that I did not have quite enough bacon, so just used what I had. I also added a little garlic powder and onion powder. I did think the meatloaf was very wet, maybe I will add a little more bread crumbs next time. I also used a combination of cheddar and mozz. cheese. The flavor was very nice! Thanks for posting

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsustacy April 28, 2009

I have been making this same recipe for a few years now. I also always put slices of bread under the meatloaf, and it does help with the fat. I also usually crumble more bacon on top with the french fried onions for the last 15 min.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennisis29 January 27, 2009

Amazing! We ate it with tomato, pickles, ketchup and mustard. I served it with frenchfries. Even the pickiest of guests at our table went back for seconds! It is soooo filling, so be prepared for leftovers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachie P May 23, 2008

Absolutely delicious! Even my husband, who is the pickiest eater ever (seriously), loves this. I prefer to use a little less bacon and in place of the cheddar cheese use Velveeta as another reviewer suggested. I also double the sauce and add brown sugar (as Paula did on a recent show) for that extra bbq flavor. Best meatloaf I've ever tasted and easy to make.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
s_rae22 February 11, 2008

Delicious recipe. I will continue to make this recipe and toss out the traditional green pepper style meatloaf. This was a hit with the entire family. My kids, ages 2 and 4 love this recipe. Thanks for posting this recipe!!...yum, yum

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JARS January 25, 2008
Bacon Cheeseburger Meatloaf (Paula Deen)