13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We liked this dish. I had been struggling with trying to figure out what to make for supper and couldn't think of anything that uses ingredients I already had. And then I came across your recipe. This was quick and very easy to prepare. I made minor changes by tossing in a couple of pieces extra of the bacon, a tad more cheese and had to use white onion. Thank you for the recipe. I know I'll prepare it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 March 21, 2014

I am giving this recipe a 4 instead of 5 because of the texture, not the taste. I did drop back to 1 1/2 TBL of chili powder. After the fact I added a can of tomato sauce, and I think it turned out very nicely. Thanks for a new keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McCartney December 23, 2013

I did make a few changes. I used about 6ounces of macaroni, instead of the whole pound. Made in a 12" cast iron skillet. I also used a lot more scallions. After I got everything mixed together, it looked dry, so I added a 15 ounce of tomato sauce, topped it off with French's fried onions and popped into the oven for about 8-10 minutes to brown the onions. I did skip the liquid smoke since one of my sons doesn't like it. We (four adults and an 11 year old) all Really liked it and would definitely make again! Thanks for a change of pace recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irisbobbie2004 February 21, 2013

My husband & daughter loved this! I cut the chili in half but kept everything else the same as the recipe. I will definitely make this again. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LauraMac October 27, 2012

I didn't love this, but I did like it. My husband also liked it, and although I did not expect my 2 year old to eat it (only because lately, he dislikes all foods except yogurt) but to my surprise he did eat some of it. I kept pretty much to the recipe, only I only had 1 lb ground beef, and I used a little bit extra of the macaroni. I lessened the chili powder b/c I didn't want it to be too spicy for my son, and added hot sauce to my individual serving. Also, I had to use velveeta because someone had used up all my shredded cheddar, unbeknownst to me. I do much prefer the flavor of real cheese to Velveeta, so when I make this again I will have to make sure we have real cheese on hand. All in all, we did enjoy it, and would surely make it again. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasKelly February 17, 2012

This is much better than the hamburger helper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerlyJ October 21, 2009

It does have the flavors of a bacon cheeseburger. The ketchup and mustard add some tanginess. I tripled the green onions just because I love them. Bonus points because this is a very kid-friendly meal. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 23, 2009

I gave this recipe 4 stars. I got mixed reviews on this recipe at my house. My future hubby loved it! My 6 yr old newphew liked it and asked for more. I thought it was ok just to much chili powder. I made a few minor changes to the recipe. I used 1 1/2 cups elbows, I cooked my bacon in with my ground beef which I only had 1 pound and cooked onions with and I used a small regular onion, I only had 2 tbl chili powder, and I used a can of tomatoes and chilies. Overall this was a super easy recipe that I'll probably make again! Thanks for posting! Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut May 21, 2009

This is very good and taste like a cheeseburger because of the mustard and ketchup. Love the little taste of the liquid smoke. I omitted the bacon cause I didn't have any. I didn't use salt. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe that I feel I'll make often when I don't know what to do for the lunches. Made for 123 hit wonders.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 25, 2008
Bacon Cheeseburger Macaroni