10 Reviews

I made this for Christmas morning and when I woke up it was a crock pot of mush. I threw the recipe together again and baked it in the oven at 350 for a hour and it turned out better.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmergirl January 02, 2010

I followed the recipe as written. The estimate of 10-12 hours on the low setting is way off--mine was overdone at 6 hours. Next time I'll check after 4. The result was tasty, but the tater tots had lost structural integrity and turned into a homogeneous mass of little potato bits. As long as you're ok with that, the recipe is fine.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayereeves July 28, 2013

At first I wasn't going to review this since I didn't use the crockpot (too lazy to set it up the night before!), but I used the same ingredients and layered them in a skillet. I did this on the stovetop in a deep skillet, browning the tater tots and ham and onions first. Then I layered the ingredients in the pan and put a lid on it and cooked it over a medium flame for about 20 minutes (till it was set - I didn't actually time it precisely) then when it was finished I uncovered it and put it in a hot oven for a couple minutes to set the top (a broiler would be better, but mine is stupid, so I didn't use it.) The family loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. July 26, 2008

No rating because I found the recipe became obsessed, wanted it for supper, and didn't have time for the slow cooker. I put everything in a greased 9 x 13 dish in a 375 oven for 45 minutes. It was delicious! The dish was very flavorful as written. I did put a little ketchup on mine because I'm 5 ;) Everyone loved it!! Definitely a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephstew April 07, 2013

I needed to make something for a Friday breakfast at the company where I work. I doubled the recipe, and it was a big hit! It was convenient to be able to make ahead and cook in the crockpot overnight....ready to take to work the next morning! Thanks for the excellent recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyCook #2 September 03, 2008

This crock-pot brekky has great flavor Jen. I used both bacon and sausage for the meat part. Omitted the green pepper per family's request. This was perfect for an evening brekky supper with the weather Hot,Hot,Hot!!! No heating up the kitchen. Perfect. Went together in no time flat. I would suggest that spraying your crockpot w/a no-stick spray before layering would be a great idea along with making sure you cook on low as recommended. I cranked my crock-pot up to high for a few hours and the results were stuck on tots:-(. But, still made for a nice quick meal for the family. Great breakfast idea ya got here!! Made for PhotoTag.~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB July 16, 2008

I made this for a breakfast potluck at work and it was AWESOME!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmmyLynn August 13, 2013

Actually what they call Canadian bacon in the US is more like ham than peameal bacon. This is so easy and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tam in Canada August 15, 2008

This is wonderful! I loved how I can put it together at night and wake up in the morning to a yummy breakfast. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 29, 2008

This was an easy breakfast for me this morning because I put this on last night! How tasty this is and I didn't even have to get up early to impress the guests! Thanks for a great recipe. MADE FOR ZWT 4 DAFFY DAFFODILS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Landers June 28, 2008
Bacon and Tater Tots Crock Pot Breakfast