Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Halloween Central >

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    24 Spook-tacular Snacks

    Try These Petrifyingly Perfect Party Bites
    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    Top Trick-Or-Treat Sweets

    19 Boo-tiful Baked Goods
    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

    A Tasty Snack For Your Little Goblins
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon and Potato Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon and Potato Chowder

    Average Rating:

    56 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 56

    Sort by:

    • on October 14, 2002

      we loved it! thick and filling, so better as a main dish. very tasty and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2002

      Great recipe! Filling as a main course with salad or as an appetizer. My company and family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2002

      This was really tasty, however I didn't know if or when you should add the bacon, so I added it with the potatoes, it was so creamy yumm..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      We LOVED THIS! It will be our only bacon and Potato soup recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2014

      I love this! I added a few chopped baby carrots and a celery stalk with the onion. I used 1 1/2 TBSP cornstarch instead of flour so it would be GF. And I didn't have evaporated milk, so I substituted one cup of whole milk. It turned out great. It's an easy, hearty, delicious soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Very good. Replaced evaporated milk with powdered milk. Evaporated milk is milk minus 60 percent water. 350 Ml = 3/4 Cup powder and 1 1/2 Cup water or twelve oz. At 60 percent. Still very creamy plus lowers the fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      Excellent flavor, easy to make and very filling, family enjoyed. Will be making this one often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2012

      It was great!! I made it up a couple hours earlier and then just let it simmer for a LONG time :) I added a can of corn to make it even better! :) I also mashed my taters to make it more nummy..... :) I kinda added like 12 pieces of bacon........ :) Whoops

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      This is the best potato soup I have ever made. I added a little pepper, but that is only adjustment I made. My husband added a little cheese to his.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      Great recipe! I used an applewood smoked bacon, mashed the potatoes slightly before I put the milk in, added 1 cup of peaches and cream corn and topped the individual bowls with light old cheddar. Served the soup with drop biscuts for a lovely fall meal. Thanks for sharing Kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      This recipe is a keeper! It's so easy to make and tasty too. I added chopped ham into the soup. You can substitute bouillon cubes +3 cups water, with 3 cups chicken stock, or whatever stock you would like. I used pork stock instead. Saved some of the bacons as soup toppings. Also added chopped spring onion in the end for some color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

    • on July 14, 2009

      We love this recipe. We've also tried adding Italian Sausage, instead of bacon (because we were out), and it also tasted really good. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Very good and easy to make. I also added the chopped bacon just before serving. I don't like squishy bacon. I also used chicken broth instead of the bouillon cubes. Thanks Kat for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I almost didnt get any!! Right after making this last night I had to go to a school meeting. When I got back, DW and DS had eaten all but ONE bowl full! DW said she had a hard time to not finish it all. Used 3 cups chicken broth and whipping cream in place of water/bouillon cubes and evaporated milk. It was great, will definitely make MANY times again. Thanks Kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      Excellent! I added 1 carrot and one stalk celery and just used normal bacon because that is what I had. I served with a fresh green salad and homemade wheat rolls. My 6 year old who has never been a super fan of soups liked this so much she requested it for her birthday dinner! Dh who I can only get to eat soup by making homemade bread with it (he loves bread and hates soups) said this was good and said it didn't really count as soup because it was thick and creamy. Simple yet delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      Very good, and easy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Such simple, on hand ingredients make a fabulous tasty soup. I fried the bacon, onions and garlic all together and didn't bother removing the bacon. Served with some crunchy buttered bread rolls, this made a perfect, filling dinner for us all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      Pretty easy to make, and once I put salt and pepper in, I had no complaints. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon and Potato Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (351 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.0
     
    Calories from Fat 54
    28%
    Total Fat 6.0 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 8.5 mg
    2%
    Sodium 830.1 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    evaporated 2% milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites