22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy sandwich, we hadn't had one of these for a long time, it was sooooo good! I left out the mayo and used whole wheat bread and added a litle dejon mustard. Actually I was going to post mine but looked through the recipes and saw this was so close I decided to review it and post my photo here. We loved this sandwich, had it for supper one night last week. quite delicious and made a quick supper for a nice change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf March 07, 2008

Made this morning for breakfast. DH out of town so I wanted something easy and 1 serving. Thanks, I'm sure I'll make again. I used mayo, just my preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vlynn January 20, 2007

What an easy, inexpensive meal! We had this for dinner yesterday with hash browns and although our tomato was yukky, and we had to throw it away, this was still a great dinner! Sometimes the simplest things are the best! Thanks for posting this!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Troop Angel October 19, 2006

This is one of dh's favorite breakfasts. Sometimes I like to sub ham for the bacon if I am in a hurry. My college used to make these when they had a old timey cafeteria. Also, in the winter when the tomatoes arn't so good, I have subbed cheese for the tomato & miracle whip. Thanks for sharing the tip about the egg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach August 12, 2006

Our local band-aid station (it's not big enough to be a hospital) makes these for me. They are basically the breakfast they serve in a sandwich other than the scrambled eggs, which I can't digest as well as a fried egg (I do not know why, but a scrambled egg makes me deathly ill.) I do swap the mayo for a slice of cheese due to dietary guidelines of the diabetic diet (low-fat low-cal cheese and baked bacon, of course and sometimes wheat bread). But I just wanted to share that even though this is "fattening" they serve it at the hospital. GOTTA LOVE THAT COMFORT FOOD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redneck Epicurean December 02, 2005

Just noticed this. It's one of my favs, but kill the Miracle Whip. I'm a Kraft mayo gal, but I think the "mayo" part is individual with the person. Hey, here in the South, Dukes and Hellmans are in most fridges, but mine. lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ August 06, 2005

I'm with everyone else, this is a great sandwich. My variation is this: instead of Miracle Whip, use Kraft Sandwich Spread. It gives a little more zip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bone Man August 05, 2005

Love this sandwich! It is also good with a slice of cheese between the egg and the bacon. I used whole wheat bread, rather than white, and skipped the Miracle Whip. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ August 04, 2005

The regular version is a fried egg on untoasted white bread spread with Miracle Whip. I use the sharp side of a broken egg shell to break the yolk. It makes the metal spatula easier to clean. Bacon sounds nice. Some of these are almost a BLT with an added egg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dingobully March 16, 2005

This is a great sandwich! Another variation which I sometimes took to work for lunch is to use sliced, hard-cooked eggs, (salted and peppered), cold bacon and sliced tomatoes. I'd take the two pieces of bread with MW, then assemble the rest at lunchtime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JHansen December 15, 2003
Bacon and Egg Sandwich