Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Bacon and Cheddar Smashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Bacon and Cheddar Smashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2013

      So quick and easy and had a great flavor! Made with white cheddar since that is what was in the fridge, but left the rest of the ingredients as is. I didn't mash the potatoes too much, left them kind of chunky. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Great pototoes weekend cooker. We really enjoyed this dish. It was quick and really easy to make with nice results. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing...except that I would remember to add the chives. The texture was perfect and the flavor spot on. Thanks for sharing a recipe that we really enjoyed and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      I simplified this even further by using instant potato flakes - it's just too darn hot - and it worked out really well. I made only two portions but used two strips of bacon. I chopped the bacon and then fried it - I find this releases more of the fat. I did not add any salt, as the cheese and bacon added enough for our taste. I might not use the sour cream next time - I love sour cream in mashed potatoes, but for me this was almost too many flavors in the dish. I had never considered mixing bacon or cheese right into the mashed potatoes, great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      Really nice potato dish that my family enjoyed especially because of the bacon addition. I mixed in all the cheese even though you have "divided" in your ingredients because that just did not make sense. I did add 5 pieces of crispy bacon as 1 just was not going to be enough for our family. Great dish and I loved that I did not have to turn on an oven or the stovetop for it - really is wonderful for these hot summer days. Made for Went to the Market game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      What a great tasting mashed potato, thoroughly enjoyed by us all. I scaled back for 4 serves and the 3 of us ate up the lot and would quite happily have had more. I used Carisma potatoes which are a low GI potato and cooked them up in a pot of water and used all the other ingredients as directed. Thank you weekend cooker, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      These potatoes are so easy to do. I didn't add water with the potatoes. But I should have drained them. And next time I won't pour all the milk and sour cream at the same time. I'll mash and add a few at a time. Cause they were a bit liquid. I put them back in the microwave and they were better. They were yummy with hamburger steak. Thanks weekend cooker :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      Super quick to make (the potatoes only took 6-7 minutes to cook) and very good! I have one complaint though - the portion size is too small! I made 1 portion and there really wasn't enough of this yummy dish. I would double it. I did use more bacon and reserved about half the chives and bacon to sprinkle on top and it looks nice too. Made for 1~2~3 tag game. Thanks weekend cooker! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2011

      I was hesitant about these potatoes. I figured cooking them in the microwave would dry them out. I was wrong. I did add about a tbsp of water to the bottom of the bowl so that it would steam them. It only took 7 minutes instead of 10 as stated. I used a little less sour cream & added 1 tbsp of butter when mashing them. This dish reminded me of a loaded back potato without hassle of the skin (I hate the skin). Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      We love loaded potato skins and this way was really nice and easy to serve them. I boiled the potatoes rather than nuke em. We enjoyed this but next time will save the bacon to use as a topping rather than mix it in. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Bacon and Cheddar Smashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.0
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    31%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 23.9 mg
    7%
    Sodium 232.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    center-cut bacon

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites