9 Reviews

So quick and easy and had a great flavor! Made with white cheddar since that is what was in the fridge, but left the rest of the ingredients as is. I didn't mash the potatoes too much, left them kind of chunky. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH March 16, 2013

Great pototoes weekend cooker. We really enjoyed this dish. It was quick and really easy to make with nice results. Made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing...except that I would remember to add the chives. The texture was perfect and the flavor spot on. Thanks for sharing a recipe that we really enjoyed and will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 03, 2013

I simplified this even further by using instant potato flakes - it's just too darn hot - and it worked out really well. I made only two portions but used two strips of bacon. I chopped the bacon and then fried it - I find this releases more of the fat. I did not add any salt, as the cheese and bacon added enough for our taste. I might not use the sour cream next time - I love sour cream in mashed potatoes, but for me this was almost too many flavors in the dish. I had never considered mixing bacon or cheese right into the mashed potatoes, great idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte July 19, 2012

Really nice potato dish that my family enjoyed especially because of the bacon addition. I mixed in all the cheese even though you have "divided" in your ingredients because that just did not make sense. I did add 5 pieces of crispy bacon as 1 just was not going to be enough for our family. Great dish and I loved that I did not have to turn on an oven or the stovetop for it - really is wonderful for these hot summer days. Made for Went to the Market game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom July 04, 2012

What a great tasting mashed potato, thoroughly enjoyed by us all. I scaled back for 4 serves and the 3 of us ate up the lot and would quite happily have had more. I used Carisma potatoes which are a low GI potato and cooked them up in a pot of water and used all the other ingredients as directed. Thank you weekend cooker, made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 26, 2012

These potatoes are so easy to do. I didn't add water with the potatoes. But I should have drained them. And next time I won't pour all the milk and sour cream at the same time. I'll mash and add a few at a time. Cause they were a bit liquid. I put them back in the microwave and they were better. They were yummy with hamburger steak. Thanks weekend cooker :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 24, 2011

Super quick to make (the potatoes only took 6-7 minutes to cook) and very good! I have one complaint though - the portion size is too small! I made 1 portion and there really wasn't enough of this yummy dish. I would double it. I did use more bacon and reserved about half the chives and bacon to sprinkle on top and it looks nice too. Made for 1~2~3 tag game. Thanks weekend cooker! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif November 21, 2011

I was hesitant about these potatoes. I figured cooking them in the microwave would dry them out. I was wrong. I did add about a tbsp of water to the bottom of the bowl so that it would steam them. It only took 7 minutes instead of 10 as stated. I used a little less sour cream & added 1 tbsp of butter when mashing them. This dish reminded me of a loaded back potato without hassle of the skin (I hate the skin). Made for Everyday is a Holiday Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh September 20, 2011

We love loaded potato skins and this way was really nice and easy to serve them. I boiled the potatoes rather than nuke em. We enjoyed this but next time will save the bacon to use as a topping rather than mix it in. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu July 05, 2011
Bacon and Cheddar Smashed Potatoes