157 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this cake ahead of time, just to be sure that I gave the booze enough time to soak into the cake :-) This was a rare treat – a rich, unashamedly decadent treat!

27 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mille® February 11, 2002

Have to agree with the other reviews. This is terrific!! I froze half the cake for company later this month and I'll bet it will be just as good as the "fresh" cake. An easy to do real winner Dorothy.

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo May 13, 2002

This is awesome. I made this for a dinner with the boss. Rich, Rummy and just delicious. Thanks for posting this. Very easy and the results are fantastic.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop September 09, 2002

I also got this recipe from a magazine many, many years ago (over 20) and have never made a better tasting cake since. I poke holes right down to the center of the cake and pour the glazing into them. The moistness and aroma has never been matched by any other cake. It is absolutely worth the time and expense to make this one! MsLynne

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsLynne June 12, 2002

i let the rum soak in a few hours as well...however, i never took it to the dinner party i was supposed to on friday. i took it to work that monday and it was fabulous. it was chilled, moist and saturated with rum. It got rave reviews..this recipe is a keeper!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
arianne May 06, 2002

Great recipe. I did not use all of the glaze on the cake. I saved some to go over the vanilla ice cream that I served with it. Wonderful. Easy to make and even looks pretty.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pabs July 30, 2002

I made this cake this week for a staff treat - needless to say it was gone before lunch! The reviews were amazing. I followed Milers advice and allowed for the rum to soak in - great idea!! I garnished the top of the cake with pecan halves - looked good!! Great recipe - a definite keeper!!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert March 16, 2002

This is truly an excellent cake, I wasn't sure how to respond to it as it has been in our family for a long time, with the only difference being, we pour the glaze over the cake while it is cooling in the pan.....and let it cool completely before taking it out. Makes it a very moist flavorful cake.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
macy0611 October 11, 2002

If using yellow cake mix WITH pudding already in the mix, omit instant pudding, use 3 eggs instead of 4, and 1/3 cup oil instead of 1/2 cup.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbgrl79ca February 07, 2003

I love this cake...I have made it many times...even for those who are tee-totalers love the moist wonderful flavor. I have also modified it from the original receipe using a pineapple cakemix and pudding and Malibu rum and add a 1/4 cup coconut to the pecans I use....Makes a kinda Pina Colada tasting cake...

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danzy January 12, 2003
Bacardi Rum Cake