13 Reviews

Fairly easy recipe, made it for Valentine's Day dessert. Turned out almost too pretty to eat. Had a glass of Cabernet with it and the wine really brought out the chocolate and raspberries.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Ellen Watson February 16, 2002

I also made this for my favorite chocoholic for Valentines Day. It was gone in one night. This couldn't have been easier and tastier. Thanks for putting it on here.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloraandMerriwether March 11, 2003

Thought this was a very competent cake, but not the absolute best ever ... but it's so easy to make that I'll definitely make it again. I needed a holiday cake and thought a chocolate rum cake really fit the bill. The rum wasn't as pronounced as I would have liked. I also added walnuts to it, just to jazz it up a bit more -- I think that was a real help. Liked the fact that the raspberry flavor was just an accent and not overwhelming. I didn't know (and couldn't find) what a "vanilla bar" was, so I used white chocolate -- didn't see to hurt anything! Thanks for posting this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts December 28, 2008

Really, really, REALLY good! I only used 1/2 of the rum (none in the preserves - used water instead) b/c it was going to be served to KIDS as well as adults. Everyone loved it - hubby would have liked a softer frosting, so will use a more traditional choc. icing next time. The melted choc. chips was delicious but might get a little too firm for some tastes. YUM!!!! _______________ 1/13/08: I've made this so often that I was kinda on "auto-pilot" this time and forgot that the cake should still be pretty warm when you add the toppings. That way, the chocolate chips just sort of ooze down all over in a nice glaze. So, this time, since the cake had already cooled I just drizzled the chocolate on top. I looks like one of those enormous fancy candy apples that are, like, $15 a piece!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy020 February 16, 2008

Fancy & delicious! I used white rum & raspberry jam with seeds as that is what I had on hand. I tried to get all the raspberry glaze to absorb into the cake but it was late & I wanted to get to bed - so, I ended up using about 2/3 of it. Great tip on melting the white chocolate with water!! I made this cake for a co-worker's birthday & it was a huge hit both in taste & presentation!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb April 22, 2006

I used Real Fruit seedless raspberry jam. It did not want to soak into the cake, but stayed on top of it. I felt this cake needed a bit more sweetness. So I mixed 1/4 C butter,1/2 C rum and 1/2 C sugar, and heated til butter and sugar melted. I drizzled this on top of the raspberry mixture, and around the bottom and sides of the cake. I let it sit for about 20 minutes before spooning the chocolate iceing over this.After letting it rest for a few more minutes, I then drizzled the vanilla glaze over it. I used pecan halves to garnish the cake. I also added 1/2 C chopped pecans to the cake mix. It was fun making this cake, and it is very pleasing to the eye! Wonderful flavor! It will be a tradition now for our holiday table..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GailFergie December 24, 2005

This was delicious! I made it on Wednesday to eat on Friday/Saturday Christmas gathering. Was loved by everyone! I used Bacardi Superior Dark Rum and Chocolate Fudge instant pudding mix. Simple, tasty and beautiful to look at!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CASunshine December 30, 2004

Made this cake for a party and received rave reviews. Takes some time for the preserves to absorb so make sure you budget the time. Other than that, GREAT! Making it again (by request) for another party next week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Stasiak August 12, 2003

I made this for mother's day and forgot to review. Very good, but I had a problem mixing the vanilla bar with the water so I melted white chocolate chips instead. I didn't make any other changes. I think the this cake would also be good without the white drizzle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hissy Hussy July 01, 2010

I very rarely ever make cake but the manbeast wanted chocolate. This was very good. I used Malibu spiced rum. A moist and delicious cake and the rasperries make it very special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber June 22, 2007
Bacardi Double-Chocolate Rum Cake