46 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This idea is so cute it should get five stars but I found that there is a problem with the recipe. It is definately necessary to use royal icing. Otherwise, it takes way too long to dry!! I had to recruit my husband to help me hold them while they dried because I didn't use the royal icing. Hopefully everyone else will take the other reviewer's advice, it makes it a ton easier.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadylynn June 07, 2009

I bought the Jelly Belly Smoothies jelly beans, and used all of the peachish colored ones for the nipples. They looked almost identical to authentic pacifiers! I made up a batch of Royal Icing instead of the tube kind, and they held together perfectly. Thank you for posting the recipe here, at my favorite recipe search site!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Macmommy October 17, 2008

So cute! I used these for on top of cupcakes for my baby shower

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole April 26, 2010

Cute! Like another reviewer, I skipped the ribbons and used these to top cupcakes for a baby shower. Since the expectant mother didn't know the gender of her baby, I made half of them with pink Jelly Bellies and half with blue, tinting the cupcake icing accordingly. I used Sweet Mint Lifesavers--two 6.25-ounce bags yielded 50 pacifiers. I purchased a bottle of Wilton cookie icing, which came in a bottle much like a glue bottle; it made a quick job of attaching the parts and dried so that the parts were well secured. I attached the Lifesavers together first, and after allowing them time to dry, propped them in a way that made it easy to attach the jelly beans to the other side and allow them to dry upright. They were a big hit--thanks for sharing this fun recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ June 03, 2007

Just made these for a baby shower I was a hostess for. Some frustration in the beginning! I definitely suggest using the ROYAL icing that dries up very hard and makes a pacifier that is completely edible since guests seem to love to eat these. We used a stiff decorator's icing first,by mistake and it wouldn't set up hard enough to be able to handle these to arrange on trays. Finally realized I didn't have the Royal icing that sets up so hard. I found the meringue mix for it at the craft store and mixed it with water and powdered sugar. I used a tiny pencil size paint brush and just brushed the thin icing on. I did the two lifesavers first then 'glued' the jelly bean in the hole with the icing and set them up in a mini muffin pan (two to a hole) to dry. I tied small 1/4" gingham ribbon in pink, blue, yellow, green and purple on the handles to match the jelly beans. I put them on a glass pedestal cake plate on the sign in table with the flower arrangement and they looked so adorable. To my surprise many guests took one when signing in and when I looked out during the shower...I saw many ladies sitting there sucking their pacifiers!! It was a sight and good picture op. Out of the 30 my daughter and I made there were none left. The kids really loved eating them, too. I used the new Sweet Mint flavored life savers, picked gingham ribbon to match our theme and went to Target where you could buy jelly beans in individual colors. Too cute.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AggieMom April 26, 2007

Very cute and simple. I made them for a Baby Shower as cupcake/cake decorations. My only sadness was not being able to find the Sweet Mint lifesavers other talked about. I'll definitely make these again. Very popular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy December 02, 2011

I made these for a baby shower and they were a huge hit! I got so many compliments on them! i used satin ribbon over curling ribbon to make them a little classier! So happy with the end result!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
munchiemama April 02, 2011

These were so easy to make and a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrappinspud February 25, 2011

Made these this weekend for a friends shower. What a hit! I did use the tube of decorator icing with no problem at all. The only thing that I did different was that I put all of the jelly bean "nipples" on first. This allowed them to dry a little. I then added the second lifesaver and placed them face down in the squares of my cooling rack to dry. Worked perfectly for adding the ribbon and transporting them too! Will definitely do this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oh Taste & See... October 25, 2010

Too cute! I will have to remember this for my next baby shower! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megjo77 July 21, 2009
Baby Pacifiers (shower Favors)