21 Reviews

These were awesome. I pressed them down so they would be flat. I added a jar of Gerber applesauce to them and substituted whole wheat pastry flour. They are so good. I hope there are some left for the baby when she gets up tomorrow. I have so much infant cereal this is a great way to use and a healthy quick breakfast for my little one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aprilf January 14, 2010

I made these for my year old granddaughter Ysabel. I did tweak it a bit. Used 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, use two 4oz jars of baby food instead molasses, used two egg yolks instead of whole egg, finally used 4 tablespoons milk. She just finished off two for breakfast. THANK YOU for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara L. January 14, 2016

I substituted rice flour for flour and used honey instead of molasses. I semi rolled them out and used cookie cutters for different shapes. Very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna D. November 11, 2014

I just made these cookies and they are DELISIOUS, just as the reviews state, a little crunchy on the outside, though springy and cookie like on the inside. Based on the reviews from other viewers I used the base cookie recipe with the 7tbs of milk instead of 3 as suggested, and only substituted a slightly over ripe banana for the molasses, because that is what I had on hand. Smelled like banana bread while they were baking!!! They took 15 minutes in my oven, pulled out when they started to brown... Then I tasted them and they tasted like banana bread only with out the spice! :-) I have a 15 month old who is sleeping right now so I melted down a dark chocolate bar and drizzled some on a few of the cookies... I don't think I need to buy cookies anymore! Its a great mommy treat too!!! A wonderful use of the excess baby cereal that WIC gave us. I wonder how it would do with Jalapeno and Cheddar, my son loved it in cornbread... hmmm... the base recipe leaves for so many options!!! <br/><br/>Thank you Soooo much for posting this!!!! <br/>Elisa-from Vermont

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa_in_Vermont November 02, 2013

Ok, flavor wise, these cookies are 5 stars. Not too sweet, but enough to tantalize your taste buds. Baby LOVED them. I gave it four stars because this recipe is not perfect. since I made a double recipe, there was enough for me and the other kid! The other changes I made were: olive oil instead of butter, more milk (about 7 Tbsp was correct, thanks everybody!), and shaping them into rectangular patties and then slicing into sticks. Wonderful! These are kind of spongy on the inside, crisp on the outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lodybean August 21, 2012

Thank you, thank you, thank you for posting this recipe! These are really great, and a real savior after my son Ben wouldn't eat any of the 6 boxes of baby cereal I had bought. I wanted them to be wheat, dairy and egg white free, so I modified the recipe a bit: 1/4 c. molasses 2 egg yolks 1/4 c. oil (I used safflower) 6 Tbsp mama's milk or water 1 tsp vanilla 3/4 c. flour replacement (I used Pamela's brand, but you could use rice flour or other gluten-free flour) 1/2 tsp baking soda 2 c. dry infant cereal Form the dough (it has a spongy texture) into little patties and place on a baking sheet. Bake 375 for 9-10 mins. Remove immediately onto cooling rack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mainefoodiegirl June 07, 2009

Let me just say, first of all, that making these is for the mommy almost as messy as eating them is for the baby! My 10-month-old loves these, and I love that it's a homemade finger food rather than the processed Gerber type you can buy in the baby food aisle. I made these twice--the first time the only change I made was to use whole wheat flour, and I think 7 tablespoons of milk. The second time, I used baby food prunes instead of the butter, and just the tiniest bit of canola oil, and 7 T of milk, and they still turned out great. I'm thinking this would be a good base recipe for any type of baby cookie--perhaps you could leave out the molasses, vanilla, and butter and use a vegetable puree instead (with a bit of oil), making it a savory cookie. I also flattened mine a little before I baked them, as they don't flatten out on their own during the baking process. Thanks for the great recipe! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
toddlermom March 19, 2009

These are tasty and great for babies and all ages - not to sweet. Baby did crumble it and make a huge mess- so maybe it's a little dry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laura.madonna August 23, 2008

My dd seems to really enjoy these. She is 6 months old so I haven't started her on milk yet, so I just mixed in a little "mommy's milk" for her instead of the whole milk called for. I also added a little ground ginger to these since they reminded me of ginger snaps as I was mixing them up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two February 20, 2008

These little guys were so handy. I started making them before my little one was introduced to whole milk so I just used some mixed up formula instead. Also, used two egg yolks instead of 1 whole egg. They turned out just fine and my little one gobbled them up, me too sometimes;)Thanks for posting! So helpful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juleskees October 28, 2007
Baby Cereal Cookies