20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Interesting recipe. Thanks for the detailed instructions on preparing the bok choy -- I wouldn't have known how to do that. This didn't go over big with the kids, but I expected that. The sauce was quite salty --I might try only one teaspoon of soya sauce next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. March 08, 2004

found it a bit salty, maybe i will reduce the oyster sauce and soy sauce pro. next time otherwise excellent!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tndang January 09, 2008

Excellent! We love bok choy but never knew what to do with it outside of a stir fry. I couldn't get baby choys so I chopped the stems into 2 1/2- 3" chunks and the quick blanching was the perfect cooking method. The sauce was dark, delicious and exotic - and - looked spectacular over the white and bright green bok choy. I made the recipe as directed using reduced sodium soy sauce. Next time I will make double, the 2 of us devoured every bit. Thanks Judy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 14, 2004

I stumbled across this recipe while perusing reviews. change the name to "bok choy with oyster sauce". been searching for a good bok choy recipe for quite a long time as dh loves this vegetable. This one is great, quick and easy. i used sushi grade soy sauce and served it as a side dish to mandabears chinese roast chicken #72990. What a great meal we had. used about 2 lbs of bok choy and doubled the sauce. there was nothing left of the chicken and bok choy from 3 of us for dinner. then again, i am a big fan of hey jude's recipes. thanks again judy for another keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BoxO'Wine March 11, 2004

So quick, so easy and oh so delicious and I can see it being so versatile for any asian inspired green vegie or even aspargus . I steamed my baby bok choy and scaled back for 2 serves and gave my sauce a quick 1 minute zap in the microwave, easy peasy, thank you Hey Jude, made for ZAAR Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat October 25, 2012

We really liked this recipe. The sauce was wonderful, with flavors that really complemented the bok choy. A friend got some bok choy in her CSA box, so we decided this recipe would be a great way to try cooking it for the first time. We added some garlic scapes, which added a nice crunch, and a dose of garlic flavor, which we both really enjoyed. The only change we would make next time is to blanch the bok choy for a shorter time, to retain a bit more crunch in the stalks. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH June 21, 2009

I posted a photo and forgot to rate this recipe..oops! We loved everything about this. I now have a wonderful staple recipe for preparing bok choy. I added some garlic to mine like others suggested and it was awesome. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carmenskitchen November 03, 2008

We fund the sauce to be absolutely delicious, a great way to eat bok choy. And chicken. And cabbage. :) Thank you very much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout September 26, 2008

This was tasty but like others I found it a tad salty. We do love bok choy and oyster sauce is great with it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 15, 2008

I just realized I have never rated/reviewed this recipe. I use it all the time when I need a quick Asian style side dish. It's so simple and yummy. I usually add garlic and some finely minced garlic. Thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ieatfoOOod December 17, 2007
Baby Bok Choy with Oyster Sauce