Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baby Bok Choy with Oyster Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baby Bok Choy with Oyster Sauce

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on March 08, 2004

      Interesting recipe. Thanks for the detailed instructions on preparing the bok choy -- I wouldn't have known how to do that. This didn't go over big with the kids, but I expected that. The sauce was quite salty --I might try only one teaspoon of soya sauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      found it a bit salty, maybe i will reduce the oyster sauce and soy sauce pro. next time otherwise excellent!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      Excellent! We love bok choy but never knew what to do with it outside of a stir fry. I couldn't get baby choys so I chopped the stems into 2 1/2- 3" chunks and the quick blanching was the perfect cooking method. The sauce was dark, delicious and exotic - and - looked spectacular over the white and bright green bok choy. I made the recipe as directed using reduced sodium soy sauce. Next time I will make double, the 2 of us devoured every bit. Thanks Judy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      I stumbled across this recipe while perusing reviews. change the name to "bok choy with oyster sauce". been searching for a good bok choy recipe for quite a long time as dh loves this vegetable. This one is great, quick and easy. i used sushi grade soy sauce and served it as a side dish to mandabears chinese roast chicken #72990. What a great meal we had. used about 2 lbs of bok choy and doubled the sauce. there was nothing left of the chicken and bok choy from 3 of us for dinner. then again, i am a big fan of hey jude's recipes. thanks again judy for another keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      So quick, so easy and oh so delicious and I can see it being so versatile for any asian inspired green vegie or even aspargus . I steamed my baby bok choy and scaled back for 2 serves and gave my sauce a quick 1 minute zap in the microwave, easy peasy, thank you Hey Jude, made for ZAAR Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      We really liked this recipe. The sauce was wonderful, with flavors that really complemented the bok choy. A friend got some bok choy in her CSA box, so we decided this recipe would be a great way to try cooking it for the first time. We added some garlic scapes, which added a nice crunch, and a dose of garlic flavor, which we both really enjoyed. The only change we would make next time is to blanch the bok choy for a shorter time, to retain a bit more crunch in the stalks. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I posted a photo and forgot to rate this recipe..oops! We loved everything about this. I now have a wonderful staple recipe for preparing bok choy. I added some garlic to mine like others suggested and it was awesome. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      We fund the sauce to be absolutely delicious, a great way to eat bok choy. And chicken. And cabbage. :) Thank you very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was tasty but like others I found it a tad salty. We do love bok choy and oyster sauce is great with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I just realized I have never rated/reviewed this recipe. I use it all the time when I need a quick Asian style side dish. It's so simple and yummy. I usually add garlic and some finely minced garlic. Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      This was just lovely! I added some garlic because I am a garlic freak and I was so happy with how it turned out. I will definately be making this again, and often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      My husband and I loved this! Very tender, healthy, and flavorful. I added chopped garlic which really added to the flavors. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Yum! This was my first time cooking bok choy and after this, it won't be the last. I added garlic, as was suggested by other reviewers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Pretty good! I also chopped 2 cloves of garlic, as Watermelon suggested, and it was excellent. Its healthy and delicious at the same time. I will def. b making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Adding fried chopped garlic gives this dish more zazz.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      I made this for dinner and found that the sauce seems to lack something, so I fry some garlic (2 cloves) in oil and mixed into the sauce before pouring over the bok choy. Thanks for the simple, tasty recipe; which will much repeated!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      My my my my my! Unbelieveable! Brilliant - what more can I say? The only thing I did differently was added only a 1/4 of the amount of soy sauce and added a little more sesame oil and sprinkled sesame seeds onto it once served! Only used a third of the sauce too.Well done! whoo hooooooooooo Great tatse!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      Excellent bok choy recipe! DH really loved it too! I made the sauce ahead of time, blanched and drained 6 halved baby bok choy. When it was time for dinner I put the bok choy back into the pan and topped them with the sauce and reheated over low heat until warm while I stir-fried the rest of dinner.Thanks for a great recipe that I'll be preparing often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Judy this was wonderful. And very authentic...Thank you for the wonderful recipe. Made the recipe as is..and it was good. Might mince some garlic next time and add it in with step one next time. But that is just because I am a fan of garlic, and it is good for the heart :) Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2004

      The simplicity of this dish makes it great. It can easily be cooked just before serving if you prepare the sauce ahead of time. Was a great veggie for a Chinese dinner I did for friends. I'll be making this just for me also!! Thanks Hey Jude

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baby Bok Choy with Oyster Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 25.5
     
    Calories from Fat 12
    47%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.4 mg
    0%
    Sodium 441.5 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites