Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baby Block Shower or Birthday Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baby Block Shower or Birthday Cake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2013

      Really fun idea!<br/>I am not a good cake decorator - that is definitely not my talent and found this to be a little more difficult because the blocks are so small and hard to neatly frost, but I did it and it was fun! I would recommend using some kind of crusting buttercream so that the frosting hardens and isn't as messy. <br/>Cute idea! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Such an awsome idea! I made these cute blocks for a baby shower I hosted for my best friend. I am no cake decorator and they were pretty difficult to frost, but they turned out a little messy, but super cute. My friend's mom bought a frosted, undecorated sheet cake so I could decorate it myself with the blocks and other cute little things. Everyone commented on how cute and original it was. They all thought that we got it like that from the bakery. I used Lemon Pound Cake for the pound cake (great lemony flavor), Kittencal's Bakery Buttercream Frosting/Icing for the frosting (so delicious!) and Cookie Icing/Frosting That Hardens for the writing. Thank you for a great idea that was a huge hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      This is such a cute idea!! A friend and I used for a baby shower. We stacked two layers and put a layer of frosting with sliced strawberries in between. We used green frosting to make the piping along the edges of the blocks and yellow for the letters. It was hard to frost and we are definitely amateurs :) But it still turned out cute -- I will make again and hopefully get better at making the frosting smooth. Thanks for a wonderful idea -- better and less complicated than Martha Stewart's version ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2007

      Wow, this was a great idea! Thanks a lot, I made this for my sister's baby shower. It was kind of hard to write letters on all sides, so I just did the top one. It came out just as good, everyone thought it was cute. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      This cake is terrific!! It is fancy without all the fuss like the "other" recipes that might be out there - lol - who has time for Martha Stewart!! I made this cake for my sister's baby shower this past month and it was a hit!! I loved the concept and the ease of making this cake - all the ingredients are readily available. 10 STARS in my book!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      Great idea. I did mine with those pre-made angelfood cakes from the store. It was fun to stack them like blocks and the angelfood was really light. It was such a good idea, even Martha copied it from you! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2007

      This idea was actually lots of people's idea. I made this recently and I used a home-made buttercream, covered that with fondant, then used royal icing to finish it off by piping the edges of all the little cakes and drawing little pictures and letters. Check-out the one Martha made on Marthastewart.com. That's where I got the idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Awesome recipe!! Clear instructions, easy to assemble!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Thank you for this recipe! I following the instructions exactly. It was super easy to frost and assemble using your directions!! My mommy-to-be best friend was delighted with the cakes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baby Block Shower or Birthday Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (51 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.9
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    46%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.8 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 169.7 mg
    56%
    Sodium 305.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites