22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I didn't have rye bread so I used multi-grain. Next time I'll use more cheese and less beans but I like all the flavors together.

Update - made this again but lightened it up quite a bit and it was good. I used a light flatout bread, reduced fat monterey jack cheese and butter spray for grilling. I'll make it again - I figure it to be about 6 points plus for Weight Watchers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA September 12, 2011

this was so good -- as one of the reviewers suggested, i mashed my beans slightly to get them to stay on and i also mixed the chopped onions into the beans -- but other then that no changes -- it was so good -- thanks for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Inspiritual May 14, 2010

yummmm...i didn't have pepperjack or the onion, so i used mozzarella, and even that came out good...this would be AMAZING with pepperjack...def making this again...thanks for the idea

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ February 12, 2010

Versatile sammy... I don't like rye - so used wheat bread. Didn't have purple onions so simply omitted them. Used a colby jack cheese combo. I used canned Ranch style black beans - drained, but not rinsed. Very satisfying sammy overall. Will be making this again since I enjoy black beans and am looking for other sources of proteins besides meats. The black beans add an 'umph' to the grilled cheese experience.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn October 13, 2009

Delicious! I loved the little bite from the pepper jack and onion, and the beans were a fantastic touch. I used spray butter on the bread. Thanks for sharing, and for adopting me for PAC!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 23, 2009

Great spin on grilled cheese that i NEVER would have thought of. I've also tried adding a bit of sour cream and tomato in the middle and it's fantastic! A little cilantro and cumin also make a good twist on this. Thanks alot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma July 07, 2008

This is definitely so Baaad! DH and I had it for lunch today and loved it! Made ours with marbled Jewish rye, mashed the beans, added a couple of tablespoons of mild salsa and some pepper jack shreds to the mashed beans. Omitted the onions since there were some in the salsa. More pepper jack directly on the bread. Yummy!! Hmmm ... Wonder how this would be as a quesadilla?? Nothing other than YUM, I'm sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glori-B May 11, 2012

Mmmmm...... this is absolutely delish, i'm kind of a health freak so I made it on a whole wheat pita and butter flavored non stick spray oh and I used jalapeno montery jack cheese again mmmmmmmmmmmmm I am in love

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PUCHOSWIFEY@YAHOO.COM February 22, 2011

Absolutely delicious !!! I had used stoneground rye bread from Panera Bread....good stuff. They have such great loaves of breads there. I had just poured a little bit of Italian Dressing in a bowl and tossed the beans around. It added a real nice flavor to them. The flavor of the monterey jack is fantastic, it gives such a nice bite. I had also smooshed the black beans slightly before putting them in the sandwich so they stayed where I put them, then off to the pannini press they went. Excellent !! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe A Good Thing. I will post pic when I get another computer, it is sitting in my camera.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny April 25, 2010

I have had this recipe saved for a while and finally got around to making it today. I wish I hadn't waited though! It is definitely "a good thing", this sandwich; actually it's a great thing! I used regular whole wheat sandwich bread, but didn't make any other changes. Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 December 06, 2009
Babs' Black Bean Grilled Cheese Sandwich