Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baba Ghannouj (Smoked Eggplant (Aubergine) Puree) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baba Ghannouj (Smoked Eggplant (Aubergine) Puree)

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on July 09, 2002

      Had friends over for a light supper and served your Baba Ghannouj with Pita Bread as an appetizer. What a hit! Your recipe is so much better than the one we get at an area Lebanese restaurant! Your ingredient amounts were "right on". Sooo flavorful! Thanks again Chrissy O for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      This was one of the better baba ghannouj recipes I've had and definitely the best one to come out of my kitchen. The tip of squeezing out the juice from the eggplant was a good one. However, I did use a little less tahini (about 100ml) than indicated and quite a bit less olive oil (about 50ml). Maybe my eggplants were smaller than the ones used in the original recipe, but I just found that the end product was so creamy it didn't need the full amount of either ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Absolutely the best. I've tried other recipes for baba ghannouj and none compare with this. Could be addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      I made this for the second time today and it turned out really good. This baba ganouj tastes better than the local restaurant makes.The first time I made it, it was awful. The first time, I didn't drain the bitter juice from the ggplant properly and the tahini I used was that cheap stuff from the Asian store. This morning, I bought a jar of very nice organic tahini and I made sure to squeeze the eggplant nearly dry. So I learned that following directions and good ingredients make a big difference. Even if I have been cooking for 60 years, I can still learn something! Thanks for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      lovely simple recipe. We're eating light so I entirely deleted the oil and it was still just heavenly. Definitely a keeper--thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      Yummy, perfect baba gannouj! The kids liked it, too. My two eggplants (one large, one medium) only came to one cup once squeezed, so I cut the recipe in half. I did use a little less olive oil and tahini and a little more garlic than called for.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      great Baba Gannouj. Really easy. I just tossed my eggplants in the oven at 300 degrees and and took my dog to the park for an hour ( i doubled the recipe). When I came back it was done perfectly. I slit them and dumped them into a colinder to drain, then tossed it into a bowl with the other ingredients. Turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      I made this yesterday after my brother gave me a box of beautiful sicilian eggplants (the round white & purple ones). I pierced and broiled it till charred (about an hour) turning frequently. I followed all the other directions as stated but liked the consistency without adding all the oil so I only drizzled a bit in. It had a smokey, rich, delicious flavor I didn't think I could get. I have bought this in the store and it is either mainly mayonaise (yuk) or has a chemically, fake tasting smokey flavor. I served it to the old school italians in my family and said it was roast eggplant dip. (they would not have touched baba ghannouj ;) They ate the whole bowl with toasted pita chips. It makes alot so I am going to try and freeze some too! I'll update with the results later! Thanks Chrissyo! Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Good recipe, made this for my husband who wasn't too sure about it before he had it because eggplant isn't one of his favourites. Put in less garlic and more lemon juice. Probably will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      This was good for a basic baba ghannouj recipe. I found it much cleaner than the store bought, am I just eating good mayonise? version It's very home made and tastes much more authentic. Next time, I think I'll scale back on some of the garlic. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

      This was my very first attempt at making baba ghannouj. It turned out very good! My family liked it a lot!! I made the tahini at home too, so that was cool! However, I think that that is a bit too much tahini, and i wish i had put a little bit more eggplant. To even out the taste a little i put a bit more of the lemon juice, which worked just fine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2013

      The pressing of the juices out of the eggplant made this better than the last recipe I tried but still not my favourite. Mine turned out more of a grey colour than the photo so I added some chopped organic flat leaf parsley and the oil drizzle on top to make it look better. I baked the eggplants at 350 for a while then put them under the broiler. I used organic garlic cloves, sea salt, to taste, a good organic roasted tahini, freshly squeezed lemon juice, and a good organic olive oil. Still looking for the perfect recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Perfect - loved it! Followed the recipe to the letter, really easy and great tasting. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      This tasted extremely bitter to me, but I probably did something wrong since everyone else here liked the recipe. My husband liked it though so its all good :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Surprisingly good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      I will never buy store-bought baba ghannouj again! This was simple and so good I had to make myself *stop* eating it. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      Well, I wouldn't call it "quick and easy." Getting through all that eggplant was a bit tough. But, it is delicious! Baba Ghannouj is one of my favorite dishes, and I love that I can create it now. I was short on tahini, but it was good with what I had, which was about two tablespoons or so. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2008

      Have made this twice with great results. Lots of compliments and requests for this recipe. Thanks Chrissyo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      Delicious, made this for an appetizer at a birthday party and everyone loved it. I roasted 4 small eggplant, a hungarian pepper, 1/4 of a large onion, and a couple cloves of garlic with the eggplant until the eggplant was done. Then I cooled everything and peeled the eggplant and the pepper and threw everything in the food processor with the rest of the ingrediants. Very tastey, I served this with pita. Thank you for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      When I first made this, I was a lit unsure of the taste but I put it in the fridge for a day and found that the flavours had really mellowed out. I grilled the eggplants on the bbq which lent a wonderful, smokey flavour to the dish. Made the recipe as directed but I added 2 tsp. of sesame oil at the end which gave it just a little punch that I felt it was missing. It is really crucial to do a thorough job of draining the bitter juices because it can wreck the dish and leave a horrible aftertaste. Thanks for this authentic and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baba Ghannouj (Smoked Eggplant (Aubergine) Puree)

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.9
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    75%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 3.4 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 407.1 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites