Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Average Rating:

    82 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 82

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2005

      This really was excellent. In order to mimic the smokey flavor you get from hot charcoals, I used some wood chips in my gas grill which produced a nice smokey flavor to the eggplant. The balance of flavors is very nice with the added bonus of very little oil compared to some recipes, that you can actually leave out (as I did) without sacrificig flavor. Thank you Mimi for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      This is very good, but too much lemon for us. This is a keeper, will use half the amount of lemon next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2005

      Mimi - this is really good. I ended up using the broiler and it was just fine. The only thing that gave me pause was that the recipe calls for a "large" eggplant, and that is relative IMHO...I was not able to determine how much I would end up with based on the 6 servings, either...It would have been nice to list the weight of the eggplant in the list of ingredients. Not a big problem in the long run because I know what it's supposed to taste like; I just tasted as I went along to make sure I didn't add too much or too little tahini, etc...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2004

      I was looking for a baba ghanoush recipe to use up some eggplant I had lying around, and this was great! I must admit, I didn't have time to drag out the grill to roast the eggplant, so I just used the oven. It still turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      Made this for our 2004 Canada Day Celebration...now what is better than a beauty baba? Not much. This is an easy-to-follow, great-tasting recipe. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      It is the best Baba Ghanoush in the world! Just wonderful and sooo addictive. Used the food processor so it was very easy to put together. The broiler worked fine for blackening the eggplant, taking about 15 minutes. Love it with whole wheat pitas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      Love it - making it again with the last of this year's garden harvest. I personally think the amount of fresh garlic is spot on! Even friends that claim to hate eggplant think this is at least ok lol :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2014

      SO GOOD, but next time I will make alterations... That is unless I plan on taking a vow of silence for a week so that I don't open my garlic ladened mouth to speak to ANYONE. I LOVE GARLIC, but this was even a bit extreme for me. The garlic overpowered the eggplant and my eggplant was HUGE! It was raining out, so I roasted it in the oven for 45 minutes or more until it was nice and soft and then added in a little liquid smoke to substitute for that grilled smokey flavor and put everything in the Vitamix. Perfect, except I can't even brush the garlic from my mouth a day later. Next time I might try roasting 2 cloves to make it more subtle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2014

      Delightful flavors, authentic recipe, better if left overnight for spices to blend before eating. Have to say from reading all these reviews that this should be mashed a little and stirred after ingredients are added, not blended or put in magic bullet. It's meant to be a little rough with seeds in the mix, not blended or magic bulleted into oblivion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2014

      Make it a little smoky by buzzing it all up in the food processor with a bit of smoked paprika to taste; I usually start off with a 1/4 teaspoon and add more if I want more smokiness. Divine with toasted pita chips!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2014

      Delish! Doubled and made as written but left out the olives as I don't care for them. My 6 year old gobbled it up for lunch with some toasted pitas and cut up veggies! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      I don't do too much ggrilling when it's cold outside, so I cut the eggplant down the middle, drizzled with olive oil and baled in the oven. I followed the recipe using a food processor and keeping the mixture chunky by adding the eggplant last and pulsing it a couple of times. Excellent taste, and loved by my Mediterranean family members. I got really high praises for thisone!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      It's a good solid recipe... but that's all. It's not the Best in the World, IMHO. It definitely needs a couple of days to flavor, so plan ahead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      Delicious, straightforward recipe. After grilling and peeling, the eggplant released much moisture which I included in the mix. It is perfect dipping consistency. Instead of olive oil, I added the sesame oil which rests atop the sesame paste, enhancing the exotic flavor. Our palates call for more garlic and more cumin, but go easy on those until you know your own tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      Sorry I can't call this the best. Definitely like other reviewers I wanted the garlic tinned down and I did mean to roast it but forgot but since that is not part of the recipe I just added less organic garlic. I used a good organic roasted tahini but was afraid from many if the reviews to use the amount called for. I wish I had because half the amount was kind of too light. I added a lot more cumin per prefrence, organic freshly squeezed lemon, sea salt, a good organic cold pressed extra virgin olive oil, organic fresh flat leaf parsley, & klamata olives. If I were to try this again I wouldn't worry about the amount of tahini if you have a good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2013

      When my husband tasted this recipe, he said "It's terrible". I roasted the garlic, which I'm sure helped. I only used 1/8 cup lemon juice, but it was very bitter. I added sugar to counteract the lemon juice and it helped. After it marinates awhile, maybe it will be better. However, I bought a whole jar of tahini for this and I probably will never use it again. We will be going back to our favorite Greek restaurant instead of trying to prepare this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      This was ok... it turned out sort of bitter though. I would probably try another method and perhaps sweat the eggplant before hand. I also prefer my baba ghanoush to be smooth and would use a blender/food processor next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

    • on May 25, 2009

    • on September 30, 2008

      I found this baba ghanoush to be bland and unimaginative. Maybe I didn't have the best eggplants to start with, but overall the dish disappointed me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    63%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brine-cured black olives


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites