Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Average Rating:

    81 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 81

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2008

      Served this at a get together of about 20 people-it lasted about 5 minutes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This recipe is truly delicious just as it is. However, I have turned it into two recipes; summer baba and winter baba. The summer version has half the tahini. I also add a little smoked paprika since I don't like the taste of blackened skin. Makes up for it nicely.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      Excellent! I also reduced the tahini and lemon juice to 2T. And, since it was 97 degrees in the shade, and my grill is in the sun, I roasted the eggplant (fresh from the farmer's market) in the oven for an hour at 350. I am now baking my garlic naan to a crunch for a wonderful lunch! THANKS Mimi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I had never tried baba ghanoush, so I thought I'd try "the best in the world"! I don't have a comparison, but this was very good. I took other reviewers' suggestions, and used a little over 2 Tbsp of tahini and 2 Tbsp of lemon juice and probably a little less than 1 1/2 tsp of cumin. I found the taste was really enhanced after sitting in the fridge, covered, overnight. I made this as an appetizer for Father's Day, and I got several compliments on it. I served it with pita wedges and fresh veggies. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I have always wanted to try baba bhanoush. Had some tahini in the fridge (i love hummus) and looking for something to make with it. Make sure to really mince or crush your garlic & I added extra cumin. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks, mimi! I made and reviewed this for February Herb/Spice of the Month / CUMIN cooking game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      The most delicious baba ganoush I've ever had! Never going to buy it from a store ever again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      1/4 cup tahini is way too much. use about a teaspoon, then add according to taste. i didn't use a grill, just an oven and it turned out great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I've made this recipe several times (it's so easy), always a favorite. Last time I realized too late I didn't have tahini around, so I used mascarpone instead (I also made a tiramisu that day). It tasted different but still very good (all my guests liked it).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2007

      i just stuck the eggplant in the oven but it was still very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      This is a great tasty dip which is easy to make. I made a few changes to the recipe - just baked the eggplant for 30 minutes rather than grilled it and it was perfect. Also used 2 cloves of garlic although i will decrease that next time as it was a little strong for my taste. I didn't have lemon juice so used lime juice instead, and only required 1/8 cup. Thanks for this great healthy recipe! This is a great accompaniment for Fatoush Salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      Wonderful and so simple! I roasted the eggplant in the oven at 450 for about 30 mins. as recommended by another reviewer and I threw everything into the food processor instead of mashing and mixing it by hand. Also, I added slightly less tahini and lemon and slightly more cumin than called for....I kept adding everything a little at a time until it was the the way we prefer it. Will be making this again....Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      We personally like a bit less lemon, so we cut back on that a bit, but this was so yummy! We have made this a few times, once blackening and a couple of other times just baking the eggplant in the toaster oven, which works fine too. Great recipe! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2007

      This was very good. I have never made or tried Baba Ghanosh. I am trying to add more vegetables to our diet to get a little healthier and thought tried this for my first eggplant recipe. In the midwest, it is too cold to grill anything so I baked two medium eggplants at 450 for about thirty minutes. Once they cooled, I peeled and squeezed the juice from them. I used only two cloves of garlic to start with and was comfortable with this level of garlickyness. I upped the cumin to 1 tsp and it gave it a nice little bite. I did not have fresh parsley so used dried. I started with 1/8 cup of the tahini and lemon and really found it needed the full 1/4 cup. This way you could taste each ingredient but they melded well on the tongue. Not sure if this is right but the consistency was about that of hummus. I served this with pita chips, celery and carrots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      Only the amount of tahini bothered me.....but guess what? i got a whole lot of compliments on my last coffee morning. So, thanx for a gr8 recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      Good, but I thought there was too much tahini and ended up adding another 1/8 cup lemon juice to try to cut the tahini flavor. The tahini seemed to overpower the eggplant, much to my dismay. BUT I did get several compliments on it, so maybe that's just my taste. To future cooks who try this recipe, I would recommend mixing in maybe 2 tablespoons of tahini and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice (since other people who have reviewed this recipe thought 1/4 cup was too much lemon) and then adjusting to your own taste preferences. I wish I'd prepared it that way. Because you can always add more tahini/lemon juice, but you can't take it out once it's in there!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2006

      This was the best Baba Ghanosh ever. I roasted the garlic also. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Delicious! My eggplant was on the smaller side, so I used only 2 cloves of garlic. It turned out so good! I will be making this again, thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      excellent recipe. i bought 2 eggplants, used one for this recipe and my husband is already lobbying for the second eggplant to be used for this dish again. i found the lemon juice quantity to be just fine, but there was no way a 'dash' of cumin would suffice in this household. i used 1.5tsp of my freshly ground cumin. i didn't have parsley so i used cilantro and thought it suited just fine. i can sense i will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

      I do agree that this is a great recipe! I've tasted some great baba ghanoush recipes from Lebanese restaurants and relatives and this one is just as good. Served with pita crisps and kalamata olives..yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      This really is The World’s Best Baba Ghanoush! A beautiful creamy texture, quick to make – and it’s low in fat! Decades ago, long before you could buy Baba Ghanoush in supermarkets, I used to make it regularly, and I had a recipe I loved. Now lost! I’ve tried every one of the dozens of varieties available in supermarkets, and none has passed my taste test. So I was full of hopeful expectation when I tried this recipe. Aha! I just loved it! All dreams of my former long-lost recipe are fading fast: I’ll be making this recipe often. I served it with pita bread and kalamata olives, because those are my favourite too. I made it exactly as in the instructions, not in the food processor, because cooked eggplant is so easy to mash, and done in the food processor it often comes out too smooth. In my opinion, hand-mashed produces a better texture. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, Mimi!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    63%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brine-cured black olives


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites