Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on June 22, 2011

      This recipe was very good. I used two eggplants instead of the one and adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. I may have used too much lemon as the consistency was a little loose, but still tasted fine to me. I ran everything through the food processor as I like this dish smooth. Served it with organic blue corn chips. Thanks for the post!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      PRIMO!! The only alteration to this recipe I made is that I roasted the eggplant over coals for the entire cooking process and I used two (2) medium-sized eggplant instead of just one. I kept the proportions of the other ingredients and the finished product did not turn out too soupy [I was afraid it might]. I also blended this in the food processor.

      I serve this with the whole wheat mini Pita rounds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      Love it! I've always enjoyed babaganoush but never made it myself. I also roasted the eggplant in the oven, but will try it over coals in the summer. When I make it next time I'm going to cut the garlic back to two cloves. Though I love garlic, I felt it slightly overpowered the eggplant. Not really a problem, but I think I'd like it with a bit less. Like many other reviewers, I also increased the cumin. I used about 1/2 teaspoon and it could use even more if you like that flavor. My local food coop sells bulk tahini, plain and roasted flavors, and I used the roasted and it was excellent for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2011

      Followed the recipe to a T. Folded roasted red peppers into the eggplant dish, and served it with grilled bread. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Pretty good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      This is sooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      My husband absolutely loved this! I liked it, just not quite as much as him. I had never had this before so maybe it just takes some getting used to. We used the food processor for the eggplant and then stirred the rest of the ingredients in by hand. My only question is, was I suppose to leave the seeds in?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      My first attempt at Baba Ghanoush and it is awesome. I accidentally mixed in the olive oil, but it is still great. I am already looking fwd to my next trip to the produce stand to get another eggplant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      imi, your baba ghanoush was out of this world! My kids gobbled it up, my husband raved about it, and I loved it too! Thank you thank you thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Mimi, your baba ghanoush was out of this world! My kids gobbled it up, my husband raved about it, and I loved it too! Thank you thank you thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I make this on a weekly basis now. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      This great, but I made a few changes I think makes it better. I think smaller eggplant grills better, but use a little less of everything else. I also think a couple of tablespoons of apple cider vinager gives it a great little kick!! (back off on the lemon juice a bit if you do).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      My husband and I loved this baba ganoush. It was a bit garlicky but for those of you who are garlic lovers, it was DELICIOUS. I baked my eggplant in the oven at 400F for about 45-50 min and did not use the parsley. I, like other users, did everything in my food processor. It worked out perfectly. It's a great recipe to serve with pre-dinner drinks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Great recipe! I used slightly less tahini, and about a half teaspoon of cumin. I also roasted my eggplant over a wood fire, which gave it a wonderful smokey flavour. After roasting, I wrapped the eggplant in plastic wrap and kept it in the fridge for a couple of days (as it was left overs) and it developed a wonderful mellow smokey flavour. I just put all the ingredients into the food processor and it was ready to eat in seconds!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This was delicious. Everyone who tried thought is was fantastic. I did do a few things differently: roasted the eggplant in the oven and I didn't have parsley or olives (but will try them in the future). What an easy way to increase vegetables in your diet! This is definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Absolutely love it. I'm a tahini, lemon and garlic lover so I feel this is a really great receipe. Packs a great punch of flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      Quite good, I had tried it before but without Tahini. It adds a great taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      I made this in the food prossesor after broiling my eggplant and I have only tasted a little so far, but it tastes great. I am letting it sit in the fridge over night to let the flavors meld together. It didn't taste too garlic-y, but maybe that flavor will come out from sitting. If not, I might add another clove next time I make this, and there WILL be a next time! Also, next time I make it I'm going to try to time it when we're grilling (I just couldn't bring myself to firing up the charcoal for one egg plant) because I know that smokey flavor would taste amazing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      Truly a great recipe! Out of necessity, I made a few changes: Broiled 10 mins per side til skin crisped, then nuked 2 1/2 mins, peeled, cubed and drained for 15 mins. I also pureed garlic by adding 1/2 tsp sea salt to minced cloves and smushing with flat side of knife blade. 3 pinches of cumin instead of one was the final transgression. I can only imagine how yummy it would have been had I only followed the recipe! My husband will no longer be buying this at the middle eastern market!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This is the Baba Ghanoush recipe I always use, and is very authentic to the Middle East (I lived there for a while). You MUST let the Baba Ghanoush sit for a few hours before eating, to let the flavors properly blend together. Otherwise it will taste bland. Baba Ghanoush tastes even better a day or two after making!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    63%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brine-cured black olives


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites