Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Average Rating:

    83 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 83

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2011

      This is a delicious recipe. My adaptations included roasting a whole red pepper and about 1/2 head of garlic (in foil) at the same time I roasted the eggplant on the grill. Finished off the eggplant in the oven as stated. For those who think the garlic is too strong, try roasting it first. Makes it sweet and mellow. I did go ahead and add 3 large cloves of raw garlic as well and it was a tad strong...bitey. I may do less next time or just stick with the roasted garlic. I did add a bit more tahini because I felt the mixture was kind of soupy. So..I know I added a few more calories but it's very good! Serving with toasted pita wedges! Yum... I used the juice of 1 large lemon. Put the eggplant flesh, roasted pepper, parsley, garlic in bowl and hit it with the immersion blender til smooth...I would skip the olive oil next time...oily enough with tahini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      The best. And capable of adjustment if your taste differs. Believe me you want that much tahini, but lemon, cumin, garlic can be modified to taste. My only change is: put tahini, salt, 2 garlic cloves, lemonjuice and cumin in food processor, grind to a smooth paste. Add eggplant and pulse until still slightly chunky. Add additional lemon to taste, continue with recipe. I never give a party without making this and/or hummus with veggies and pita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2010

      OH. MY. GOD. This is possibly the best baba ghanoush I've ever had. I made this with eggplants fresh from my garden and it came out fantastic! I was going to keep the skins on but I'm glad I didn't. I followed the recipe exactly as written, and it came out so light and fluffy and absolutely delicious. the only thing I did differently was I blended it all in the food processor. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      Superb recipe! Instead of grilling, I added about a few dashes of liquid smoke. It freezes well, so make a double batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Great recipe as is, but I added some personal touches. First we slice our eggplant prior to grilling I to disc shapes. Then we "grill" our eggplant on a large griddle or indoor grill. Brush one side with olive oil and sprinkle with kosher salt, black pepper and a dash of cayenne. Once the slices are soft we serve immediately or store in the fridge. We had some of these slices lying around and I followed the instructions pretty much exactly. We did not get rid of the skin and doubled the garlic. We also Used the juice from one medium lemon and my dash of cumin was about 1/4 tsp. Then chilled the mixture for over an hour to get the flavors to develop. We omitted the olive oil drizzle and parsley. It was so good served with pita chips or warmed whole wheat pita. Very good recipe! Next time We'll transfer half to the food processor for a creamy, but not tooooo creamy texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      Excellent recipe! I do prefer a lot of eggplant flavor myself, so the cumin and parsley are optional for me. The roasting of the eggplant to start is essential.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      This was definitely very, very good!!! We had a week-old eggplant in the fridge, and a neighbor brought over some yummy homemade flatbread - so what could we do? Make baba ganoush! This was so easy to make and very adaptable. We made it with all the ingredients posted but adjusted for our taste (less lemon) and no olives. We whizzed this in the magic bullet and next time will probably go with what a previous reviewer said and process all the other ingredients first then add the eggplant but only pulse till chunky. It is definitely better with the drizzle of good olive oil, so don't worry about the calories and eat this like it was meant to be! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      This is the best recipe I have found. Next time will either use less garlic or will roast it first. I will add a little liquid smoke since my fav restaurant has a smoky flavor to theirs. When I made this the second time I used paprika and fresh basil instead of the olives and fresh parsley since I was out of those items. I also used three eggplant to the same amount of other ingredients and only needed a little more olive oil to blend it all in the blender. This recipe will be made many times by our family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      I love eggplant so I thought I would love this dish. The uncooked garlic was too strong. It overpowered every other flavor. I would roast the garlic with the eggplant to mellow and caramelize the garlic. Also a good couple teaspoons of honey would counteract any bitterness in the eggplant if not in season. I'm going to try it again soon. Some recipes I have seen also call for olive oil but I think that unnecessary, being creamy enough with the tahini paste and lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      This was good and flavorful. I didn't have lemon so I used lime juice instead. Still very good. Thanks for the recipe. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      I made this using eggplants from my garden, which are a long skinny variety. I thought 2 would equal 1 egg-shaped eggplant but obviously didn't because my baba ghanoush came out rather runny and REALLY lemony. I really don't mind though because I still think it tastes great! However, I would like it to be thicker so I might run to the store tomorrow and buy another eggplant to add to it. Still a great recipe though and I can't imagine how good it will be with the right amount of eggplant! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      I also forgot to add.....I served it with halved grape tomatos and kalmata olives and toasted some thin whole wheat pita bread on the grill. Even my 3 and 2 year olds ate it!!!! Tell me how else you can get toddlers to eat eggplant?! Again, thanks for a great authentic recipe, it was PERFECT! Now that I know how to make this, I can do an all out mezze platter for parties along side my taboulleh and hummos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      I have made many baba ganoush recipes and this one is my favorite. I put a little less tahini in that it called for and it was outstanding. I will be using this recipe from now on.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      Excellent, but you do not need to pay $10 to $15 for expensive store-bought tahini. Just get some sesame seeds from the bulk aisle and pulverize them yourself. You can use a coffee grinder, mortar and pestle or, if you're lucky enough to have one, a juicer with a nut butter attachment. Your homemade tahini paste will be drier than the store-bought kind but it still works really well for this recipe as the eggplant is so wet. Also, I broiled the eggplant instead of grilling it since it is winter. It came out fine. I also toasted the garlic on the baking sheet for 10 mins while the eggplant was baking, which mellowed it out a bit. Oh and if you leave a bit of skin on the eggplant and process it in the food processor instead of by hand, the final product will taste smokier and will have very pretty little purple flecks in it. This would be a great dish to bring to a party with pita chips.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      So good! I wasn't sure what to do with eggplant, but now I know! Similar to hummus with a smoother texture. I didn't add the olives, but I think they would be a nice addition.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Wonderful! I love baba ganoush, but never thought I could make it. This recipe is perfect - thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly, which I don't usually do, but I'd never made baba ghanoush before, so I wanted to make sure I got it right. A 1/4 cup lemon juice is TOO MUCH!! That's my only complaint about the recipe. I'd use the recipe again, but I would half the lemon juice and then add more to taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Yes - this is pretty much a perfect baba ganoush recipe. I do use my food processor to smooth it out, but other than that I make this just as written. Very good. Oh, and I sprinkle a little smoked paprika on top for serving. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      Delicious!!
      I made it in the magic bullet (it was easier to blend that way than mashing with a fork).
      I sprinkled a little crumbled feta cheese on top for more flavor and garnish - yum!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      I just made this recipe and used 2 large egg plants and added in 2 roasted bell peppers (that came from a jar, I didn't roast these myself). I only used 1 raw garlic clove and did not use any oil. I tightly packed my egg plants (I split them in half because they were quite large and this would also speed up cooking time) in tin foil w/ some oil and minced garlic and salt and put them in the oven at 400*F for 40 mins and let them cool. Then I added it to my food processor because I like my dips to be smooth. I also added cumin as well, but to taste. I tried it before adding the tahini sauce and thought it was really good as is, but after I added it, I didn't really like it. I have only used tahini sauce in my hummus recipes. But if I was to make this again, I would omit the tahini sauce because it really ad a nice fresh eggplant and bell pepper taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Baba Ganoush - the Best in the World!

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 103.5
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    63%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brine-cured black olives

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes