17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have a few major issues with this recipe. First, the fat content. Does anyone care that 1 serving is 84% of their daily value of fat? And where exactly is the lettuce? We can do better I think. My suggestions to make it better, cut the mayo in half, I would say use fat free mayo, but I can't stand the stuff myself. Use 3 cups of fat free sour cream to make up the difference. Use only a quarter of the prescribed bacon; two pounds is a bit much. When I made this I used a quarter pound and it was plenty. Bake your bacon on a wire rack as to allow most of the fat to drain away, and cook it crispy. I added 10 plum tomatoes and seeded them before dicing. It kept the added moisture under control. I like green onions, so I used about 1/2 cups worth, or about 6 onions. I used endive and romaine hearts instead of the crackers or chips. While I cut out a lot of the fat, I didn't cut out it all and it still tasted wonderful and got rave reviews from my guests.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TBNCChef September 26, 2010

Made this for the first time for a party last night, It was so easy and absolutely delicious. Everyone loved it and it was gone very quickly. Definitely make it the morning before you want to serve so the flavors can blend. Used Fritos and Wheat Thins for dippers. This one is a keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dinetine August 28, 2010

This was a very yummy dip. I tried it with club crackers and fritos and they were both equally delish with this dip. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandra_rowe April 25, 2009

I loved this dip! I cut back on the bacon because two pounds is a lot!!! I used about 1.5 pounds. I was concerned at first because it was extremely chunky and not very flavorful at first. But, LET IT SIT OVERNIGHT!!! Magic happens, the flavors blend, and it is amazing. Who cares about the fat content. If you're concerned about that then you shouldn't be eating chips and a bacon dip in the first place....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MattNBen February 08, 2013

FANTASTIC as can be! I ABSOLUTELY loved this recipe! Made for BBQ, all one heard was MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM, TRUE! That about says it all too! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder February 28, 2009

Dee-lish! Made this over the weekend and everyone loved it! I love the fact that it's a hot dip vs the cold version that more people have had before. It does make A LOT though-which is a good thing when you're serving a crowd.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meredith .F March 30, 2008

I recently made this dish for a New Year's Eve gathering. It was an instantaneous hit! It had a very fresh taste to it. Next time I would like to serve it with Water Crakers. The Buttery type crackers were an unnecessary flavor to such a flavorful dip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandalou January 06, 2007

YUM!! everyone here at the lake sure enjoyed this dip. I did spice it up a bit with some Greek seasoning, Black Pepper,Accent (to enhance the flavors) and a dash of dillweed and I let it chill for several hours while we were out fishing. I didn't add any lettuce cause I didn't see it in the ingredients but it didn't effect nothing cause the dip was gone in a FLASH! I served this dip with Fritos Scoops, it was awesome!!! Thanks so much for sharing this classic recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. July 02, 2006

Well, it was good, but too rich. I used ff mayo and light sour cream, but still it was rich. I halved the recipe, but still thought there was too much of either sour cream or mayo, not sure which.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill May 26, 2006

Took this to a party last night. It was a huge hit. Made it in the morning and the flavors blended very well. Will make this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthbomer April 30, 2006
B. L. T. Dip ( Bacon, Lettuce and Tomato) BLT