Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Thai Chicken Coconut Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Thai Chicken Coconut Curry

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2011

      Wow. I took the leftover can juice from the pineapple chunks, and added a tablespoon of wasabi mayo (found in the Asian market when I went to get these ingredients). Used this as a dressing / marinade for cucumbers. Wow ! Anyway, the red curry paste that I bought didn't really provide the "heat" my family likes, in fact, hardly any at all. I used the 2 teaspoons of this red curry paste, and then added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (for more moderate, you might try 1/2 teaspoon of pepper flakes).
      That did the trick. Added the pineapple chunks just before the final heating, and a sliced baby bok choy & some flat peas.
      Thanks for this recipe - will be making again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Amazing!! I used extra ginger, 4x the curry paste.(we like it HOT) For protein I used 1 cicken thigh and 1 lb of fresh tilapia. Sooooo good!! Oh and I also substituted light coconut milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      Very yummy recipe. Made it vegetarian by using potatoes and red peppers in place of chicken and omitting the fish sauce. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. My picky husband raved (doesn't happen often!) over it. Wonderful flavor. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      loved this recipe so easy to make and so tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      Great recipe. It tasted much better with more of the curry paste; the more the paste, the spicier it is. Added green peas to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      A very good coconut curry as it is (although DOES need more spice). I substituted organic, natural coconut oil for the vegetable oil- it is so good for us. I added a 1/4 sweet potato, partially steamed in microwave first, and cut into bite sized pieces, & 1/4 zucchini cut into bite sized pieces. I had to add ground cayenne pepper because my curry paste was not hot enough! (obviously have the wrong curry paste). Served over Jasmine rice....such a crowd pleaser. Will definitely make again. Next I may try it with shrimp, and after that, just veggies. Thanks Le Beast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2013

      At first I was going to only give this recipe 4 stars, I thought I had a hint of fishy flavor that I generally don't taste in the Thai restaurants. I then realize that I stupidly misread it and put 2 tablespoons and not teaspoons when I made it. Even still it was very tasty and if I could learn2read it would've been amazing. I also added some stir-fry vegetables and used 3 teaspoons of red curry paste and 2 teaspoons of sweet curry powder and it was the perfect heat (zip in the mouth but in no way required you to drink water).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Awesome awesome awesome this is the yummiest Thai Chicken Coconut Curry we have ever had thanks so much for this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2012

      great recipe! added a little bit of curry powder, next time i'll add more than the 1tsp of curry paste and more ginger. I will also add veggies to up the health factor- diced potatoes and carrots that are parboiled would be prefect. Served with white basmati rice and sauteed spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This was good. I had never had a curry, and had always thought it to be too hot. I don't know if it was my paste or not, but it was quite tame. I added in 2 tsp. of my curry paste. My store doesn't have lemongrass, so I subbed lemon juice and some zest. Next time I make this, I will add in more curry paste, or look for a different brand. Thank you for opening my eyes to this type of dish. I am no longer afraid of curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2011

      Really enjoyed this although next time I will double the recipe. There is only a smidgen left for DH when he comes home tonight! I added a bit more curry but not a lot as I was feeding this to my kiddos and didn't want it too spicy. They liked it fine. Also added a little extra brown sugar. Found frozen, shredded lemon grass at our local Asian market and just kept adding until I liked the flavor. Used lite coconut milk and thought it worked just fine. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      I just made this tonight and with a few alterations it was awesome!!! I added more curry paste. Probably 2 Tbs by the time I was done. I also added some broccoli for some added nutrition.
      Very easy and super satisfying. Thanks for posting Le Beast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2011

      This recipe is outstanding. Tastes excellent and very easy to make. It's totally comparable to my local favorite Thai restaurant, at a fraction of the cost, plus the satisfaction of doing it yourself. I added a little more red curry paste than the recipe asked for, but ended up having to keep adding cayenne pepper to bring up the heat. Perhaps the red curry paste at my local grocery store is too weak, I don't know. But, the flavor was all there, except just not spicy at all for me. What I loved about the recipe is that you can keep tasting the sauce as you go along, adding whatever ingredients you feel are missing, so there is virtually no chance to screw it up if you go slow, only if you originally dump too much of something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      I made recipe exactly as it was written. It is a very thin, liquid sauce, so if you are looking for something to stick to the rice, skip this. The flavor seemed authentic, but for me, nothing to wow about. The curry flavor is light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Delicious! I still can not believe something this authentic tasting came out of my kitchen! You'd pay a lot for a dish like this at a Thai restaurant. Much more economical to do it this way. I didn't have fish sauce (used soy instead) and omitted the lemongrass as I didn't have any. Outstanding, very quick and easy. Thanks SO MUCH for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This was VERY EASY and relatively quick to make. I'm not a big spicy food person, but I would have done 2 tsp of the curry paste. Delicious and I served it over rice. I was a bit skeptical about the pineapples, but it really made for a nice texture. Get the regular 14 ounce can and not the half sized one. I couldn't find lemongrass stalks, so I used the paste and it worked fine. I think I used more than I should have, but it tasted great! A+++++!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      This was pretty good. And definitely easy. I added more curry paste and more brown sugar. My middle DS loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This is as good as any Thai dish I've ever had! I followed it as written the first time except used my own homemade curry paste rather than from a jar. I have not dined in the finest Thai restaurants, but some very good ones. We loved it so much that I made it again just a couple of nights later using shrimp instead of chicken and adding snow peas. I did not have to scrimp on ingredients, and you shouldn't if you don't have to. The flavors are complex and wonderful as is. I see some people have had trouble finding fresh lemongrass, but I found it easily here in Arizona at Sunflower Farmers Market. I didn't know what "2 cups" of cut-up chicken equals, but it's about 2-1/4 lbs. of boneless, skinless chicken thighs. "1 can" of pineapple worked well for me using the smaller 8-oz. can, drained.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      very good.the whole family loved it including my very picky daughter.she even ate the pineapple chunks.thanks very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I made this last night and my whole family liked it, including my 12 and 20 yr olds! It tastes like what you would feast on in a restaurant! I used 5 boneless chicken breasts, 2 garlic cloves, 3 tsp brown sugar, sesame oil instead of vege oil, more coconut milk instead of h20, 2 tsp fresh ginger, and about 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon powder. With jasmine rice, it is over the top!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Thai Chicken Coconut Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.5
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    69%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 19.2 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 832.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 21.7 g
    86%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    lemongrass

    boneless skinless chicken breasts

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes