35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow. I took the leftover can juice from the pineapple chunks, and added a tablespoon of wasabi mayo (found in the Asian market when I went to get these ingredients). Used this as a dressing / marinade for cucumbers. Wow ! Anyway, the red curry paste that I bought didn't really provide the "heat" my family likes, in fact, hardly any at all. I used the 2 teaspoons of this red curry paste, and then added a teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes (for more moderate, you might try 1/2 teaspoon of pepper flakes).
That did the trick. Added the pineapple chunks just before the final heating, and a sliced baby bok choy & some flat peas.
Thanks for this recipe - will be making again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leo's Mom June 19, 2011

Amazing!! I used extra ginger, 4x the curry paste.(we like it HOT) For protein I used 1 cicken thigh and 1 lb of fresh tilapia. Sooooo good!! Oh and I also substituted light coconut milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luluaz January 04, 2011

Very yummy recipe. Made it vegetarian by using potatoes and red peppers in place of chicken and omitting the fish sauce. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. My picky husband raved (doesn't happen often!) over it. Wonderful flavor. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefingwithchefmama1 January 04, 2010

loved this recipe so easy to make and so tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen R. November 28, 2014

Great recipe. It tasted much better with more of the curry paste; the more the paste, the spicier it is. Added green peas to it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seabeyond February 01, 2013

A very good coconut curry as it is (although DOES need more spice). I substituted organic, natural coconut oil for the vegetable oil- it is so good for us. I added a 1/4 sweet potato, partially steamed in microwave first, and cut into bite sized pieces, & 1/4 zucchini cut into bite sized pieces. I had to add ground cayenne pepper because my curry paste was not hot enough! (obviously have the wrong curry paste). Served over Jasmine rice....such a crowd pleaser. Will definitely make again. Next I may try it with shrimp, and after that, just veggies. Thanks Le Beast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
czvallery January 13, 2013

At first I was going to only give this recipe 4 stars, I thought I had a hint of fishy flavor that I generally don't taste in the Thai restaurants. I then realize that I stupidly misread it and put 2 tablespoons and not teaspoons when I made it. Even still it was very tasty and if I could learn2read it would've been amazing. I also added some stir-fry vegetables and used 3 teaspoons of red curry paste and 2 teaspoons of sweet curry powder and it was the perfect heat (zip in the mouth but in no way required you to drink water).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linkinpaak January 07, 2013

Awesome awesome awesome this is the yummiest Thai Chicken Coconut Curry we have ever had thanks so much for this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliekarenryan November 14, 2012

great recipe! added a little bit of curry powder, next time i'll add more than the 1tsp of curry paste and more ginger. I will also add veggies to up the health factor- diced potatoes and carrots that are parboiled would be prefect. Served with white basmati rice and sauteed spinach.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nonameplumb June 08, 2012

This was good. I had never had a curry, and had always thought it to be too hot. I don't know if it was my paste or not, but it was quite tame. I added in 2 tsp. of my curry paste. My store doesn't have lemongrass, so I subbed lemon juice and some zest. Next time I make this, I will add in more curry paste, or look for a different brand. Thank you for opening my eyes to this type of dish. I am no longer afraid of curry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin January 03, 2012
Awesome Thai Chicken Coconut Curry