9 Reviews

Absolutely fantastic, hands down the best "Christmas sugar cookie" I have ever had. Wonderfully soft, just the right amount of sweetness, and the almond flavoring in the frosting is the perfect compliment.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kryn.barrie December 03, 2014

not too sweet of a cookie, so perfect for decorationg! very easy to make. I used 1 cup of WW flour (ran out of white) and they still turned out great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillbeaner December 07, 2009

This is the iced sugar cookie recipe that I've been looking for. The cookies are thick, soft, and substantial enough to hold up to icing. The icing is sweet, buttery, and hardens so that you can package the cookies away without messing them up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimberlypod October 16, 2008

These are SO FABULOUS! It's the perfect amount of "sweetness" for me. I don't eat a lot of sweets and I could not stop eating these. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ALC January 14, 2008

Not crazy about the cookie - just not a lot of flavor, in my opinion. Very difficult to get the dry ingredients incorporated evenly. Probably won't use the recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri A. November 25, 2015

Excellent! I've made them twice in the past two days for two different groups, one 5-6 year olds and the other 20+, and every one gobbled them up! I made both the frosting and the cookie. The cookie is not too sweet, which is the best part, because then the frosting adds that sweetness for a perfect combination. The almond extract in the frosting is a delicious and subtle complement to the cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
natealealvey November 02, 2015

These cookies are fantastic! They are easy to make. The dough feels rather dry, but that makes it perfect for rolling out without flour. Extra flour tends to make the dough hard, or the cookie fall apart. I accidentally over cooked a batch and they taste like very good butter cookies. So grateful that this family recipe is shared!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle H. December 10, 2013

These cookies aren't overly sweet, so they are fantastic when paired with the homemade icing. I added some gel food coloring to the icing, and used my cake decorating tips to create adorable Christmas cookies. To make the icing firmer, we used condensed milk instead of evaporated. This made it easier to pipe with, and still tastes great with the recipe. The cookies were a huge hit at the party I brought them to--everyone was impressed with both the looks and the taste. This recipe is definitely worth a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpatisserie January 21, 2013

I only made the cookie portion of the recipe, not the frosting, but I did use another recipe for butter cream frosting. The cookie was tasty, but at first I didn't care for it. It was much better the second day. It did remind me of those big pink frosted cookies. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Japanese Delight January 10, 2010
Awesome Sour Cream Sugar Cookies With Homemade Icing