237 Reviews

Quick & Easy!! I sub beef broth for the water and use a boneless chuch roast. Baby carrots & whole new potatoes always make it in the pot too. I always have left overs so...I shread the meat into small chunks & the next day put the whole thing, meat, carrots, potatos and some gravy into a pie dish and cover w/1 9" pie shell. Bake for 45 minutes at 375.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katreasanchez January 11, 2008

This was delicious. I used Epi Curious advice and used the golden mushroom soup. I can't believe the difference in taste between the cream of mushroom and the golden soup. I had never used the golden mushroom soup and it was totally awesome. I also put the carrots and potatoes in when I put in the beef. I cooked it on low for about 8 hours. I added potatoes, onions and carrots when I added the beef roast.The potatoes, onions and carrots came out to a beautiful golden color and the meat was very tender. The vegetables were infused with the wonderful flavor of the gravy. Thanks for sharing.

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane from Ohio May 07, 2010

Wow! Super tasty! I added potatoes & carrots to make up for a super small roast since there is only 2 of us. Also, I added fresh mushrooms. In place of water I used beef broth. The gravy was so good I was eating it with a spoon! Followup: I've made this many times and it is the only way I will cook a pot roast now as it's sooo good. When adding veggies add them from the very beginning. Even with potatoes. They will soak up the broth and end up tasting spectacular. Unless you jab at the potatoes too much they have always kept their form all the way to the end for me even with cuting my potatoes up in large chunks. Also, if available to you try crock pot liners for easy clean up. I find them at the grocery store where the aluminum foil is. Don't skip using the dry onion soup mix. That is key to the wonderful flavor.

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seashorewalker June 07, 2009

This is the only recipe we ever use anymore! I always add in some carrots and potatoes alongside the meat. The gravy is delicious and the meat just falls apart. I've even used Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream for the mushroom soup. Thanks for the keeper recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unmistakable1 September 30, 2008

I had 3.5 lbs. roast so I browned the roast a little. Added only 1 can of soup, half the onion soup and 3/4 cup of water. It was the BEST. My 5 yr old son had 2 slices of meat and my 3 yr. old ate it too. My friends husband almost licked the plate. There children ate it as well. THANK YOU for posting.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gina's Cucina March 07, 2011

This was SOOOO yummy! My husband and I both give it 2 thumbs up and 5+ stars! I used beef broth instead of water, added onions, potatoes and carrots, and mushrooms, studded the roast w/ sliced garlic, and rubbed it with black pepper and garlic powder before putting in the crock-pot. Came out so tender and tasty! I don't even care that much for beef and I loved this! Whenever hubby wants comfort food, this is what we make!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellyDancer March 14, 2007

Great! I used a smaller roast so used 1 can of 98% ff soup and 1/2 pkg of soup mix. I added carrots, potatoes and leeks as well.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chill September 24, 2011

My mother-in-law made this for us 30 years ago and I just had to have it. I was SO surprised how simple it is to make. It is still a family favorite in our home. My recipe calls for 1 can of cream of mushroom, 1 can of golden mushroom along with the small package of dried onion soup mix. The combination of the mushroom soups makes a wonderful sauce! This recipe tends to be high in sodium so look at labels and select the soups with the least amount of sodium.She also coated her roast with Guldens mustard which adds a little zing to the sauce. I have done it both with and without the Guldens and it's great!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horanv May 24, 2011

My husband is a VERY picky eater and he loved this. I read through some of the reviews and modified with 1 can of cream of mushroom with roasted garlic and 1 can of golden mushroom. I eliminated the water and added in 1 can of low sodium beef broth. I peeled and quartered red potatoes and added them with a handful of baby carrots at the very beginning. It was amazingly good. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madge22 August 13, 2010

This is a wonderful way to cook an inexpensive roast. It does make a tasty gravy. I have also used cream of chicken soup and a package of dry brown gravy mix. You can also use cream of celery soup and the onion soup mix.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy in Fla April 02, 2003
Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast