20 Reviews

Diner -- you have achieved a Zaar world first. I was going to give this four stars because I needed to add a tablespoon of red pepper sauce to get the zing I wanted. But then our extremely fussy and 96-year-old Auntie Esther asked for seconds. AND THEN she asked to have the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. She has lived with us for seven years and NEVER asked to have any leftovers. Don't break your arm patting yourself on the back, but consider this the highest compliment you will ever receive on Zaar. I bow before you. I'm gobsmacked. Thanks. Made for Zaar World Tour.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy July 03, 2007

Very good and so easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 19, 2013

This is a great recipe of sloppy joes. It's not too sweet like others. I used red bell pepper. Thanks diner :) Made for Photo tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 06, 2013

Doubled the ketchup as suggested and added a tablespoon of hot sauce. It had very good flavors, but in the end, I prefer a thicker sauce and more of it. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christinaleans July 09, 2010

loved it, thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelinOhio March 10, 2010

My boys are Sloppy Joe lovers & both raved over this recipe. I have to admit, I had my doubts, as when I was putting it all together I started to wonder if a main ingredient hadn't been left off the list. In the end I made everything per the recipe except I had just finished making a lasagna too & had about 1/3 cup of tomato sauce leftover so instead of doubling the ketchup (as in the ingredient notes) I just threw the tomato sauce in. I usually like to use garlic & a bit of brown sugar in something like this but even without those I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. Ultimately, it was the red pepper sauce (I too added a lot more than called for) that put this recipe into the 5 star category. :) I served the meat mixture atop 40 Minute Hamburger Buns (the only hamburger buns I ever use anymore.) Thanks for sharing, diner! This super quick & easy recipe has been requested again. Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** July 01, 2009

I did add about 2 tbps of minced/grated garlic and I added a bullion cube as well. I added all my vegetables with my meat as I like mine cooked down a little more. Came out pretty good considering ketchup was used instead of my usual tomato sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Cherry Blossom May 17, 2009

These really hit the spot with a sweet sauce with just a hint of heat. I made mine using lean ground beef (90%) and red peppers in lieu of green peppers. As someone who cooks for 1 or 2 this yielded a good supply of leftovers and those were amazing as promised. For a 6 star treat make a big batch and freeze some OAMC or add some extra water and simmer beyond the stated cooking time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni May 03, 2009

yummy! I didn't use celery because I didn't have any, and my hubby wouldn't have cared for that much anyway. Otherwise made as directed. It made a super fast and tasty meal. I liked the little zip of the hot sauce. (I added more than was called for too.) Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo October 27, 2008

Made these for game day yesterday and they were very good. I added quite a bit more red pepper sauce than stated and also added several tablespoons of BBQ sauce because they were a little too simple for us. Tons better than the stuff from a can! Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI October 20, 2008
Awesome Sloppy Joes