Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Sloppy Joes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Sloppy Joes

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2007

      Diner -- you have achieved a Zaar world first. I was going to give this four stars because I needed to add a tablespoon of red pepper sauce to get the zing I wanted. But then our extremely fussy and 96-year-old Auntie Esther asked for seconds. AND THEN she asked to have the leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. She has lived with us for seven years and NEVER asked to have any leftovers. Don't break your arm patting yourself on the back, but consider this the highest compliment you will ever receive on Zaar. I bow before you. I'm gobsmacked. Thanks. Made for Zaar World Tour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Very good and so easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      This is a great recipe of sloppy joes. It's not too sweet like others. I used red bell pepper. Thanks diner :) Made for Photo tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Doubled the ketchup as suggested and added a tablespoon of hot sauce. It had very good flavors, but in the end, I prefer a thicker sauce and more of it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      loved it, thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      My boys are Sloppy Joe lovers & both raved over this recipe. I have to admit, I had my doubts, as when I was putting it all together I started to wonder if a main ingredient hadn't been left off the list. In the end I made everything per the recipe except I had just finished making a lasagna too & had about 1/3 cup of tomato sauce leftover so instead of doubling the ketchup (as in the ingredient notes) I just threw the tomato sauce in. I usually like to use garlic & a bit of brown sugar in something like this but even without those I was pleasantly surprised with this recipe. Ultimately, it was the red pepper sauce (I too added a lot more than called for) that put this recipe into the 5 star category. :) I served the meat mixture atop 40 Minute Hamburger Buns (the only hamburger buns I ever use anymore.) Thanks for sharing, diner! This super quick & easy recipe has been requested again. Made for Every Day is a Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I did add about 2 tbps of minced/grated garlic and I added a bullion cube as well. I added all my vegetables with my meat as I like mine cooked down a little more. Came out pretty good considering ketchup was used instead of my usual tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      These really hit the spot with a sweet sauce with just a hint of heat. I made mine using lean ground beef (90%) and red peppers in lieu of green peppers. As someone who cooks for 1 or 2 this yielded a good supply of leftovers and those were amazing as promised. For a 6 star treat make a big batch and freeze some OAMC or add some extra water and simmer beyond the stated cooking time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      yummy! I didn't use celery because I didn't have any, and my hubby wouldn't have cared for that much anyway. Otherwise made as directed. It made a super fast and tasty meal. I liked the little zip of the hot sauce. (I added more than was called for too.) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Made these for game day yesterday and they were very good. I added quite a bit more red pepper sauce than stated and also added several tablespoons of BBQ sauce because they were a little too simple for us. Tons better than the stuff from a can! Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      This was a very simple, yet delicious sloppy joe recipe. I will definitely be making these again! Followed the recipe to the tee. Thanks for a quick meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      This is a wonderful sloppy Joe recipe. It's a great combination of flavors. The only thing I did differently was add a bit of brown sugar because we like a sweeter taste! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Great Sloppy Joes Diner! I really enjoyed for lunch today. I love my recipe but sometimes it's fun to try someone elses for a change. Will be making these again! Made for New Zaar Stars Tag Game. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      A great combination of flavors, although I did do a few changes, I added in 2 tablespoons fresh minced garlic and 1 tablepoon crushed chili flakes while cooking the beef, after simmering for about 20 minutes I added in some brown sugar as it was not sweet enough for my family's taste, thanks for sharing diner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Excellent sloppy Joes. I did add a little brown sugar and tripled the sauce ingredients because we like more sauce than this produced. Flavor was great. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Fantastic! Definitely better than any store-bought stuff! I sauteed the meat and didn't drain it, but used the little bit of grease to sautee the veggies with. Turned out fine; not greasy at all. After the veggies were cooked through, I deglazed the pan with the worcestershire sauce and let that cook off for a minute. Then, I used an 8 oz can of tomato sauce in place of the ketchup and added a Tbs or so of brown sugar. I omitted the hot sauce, as we didn't have any. Served with oven fries and raw veggies. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Really good sloppy joes! I used red pepper in place of the green and I can't say I measured the ketchup, but just put a bunch in. I love ketchup! Used the 1/8 tsp of red pepper sauce and I think I will increase that next time as I do like a little kick. Congrats on winning the football pool!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      This was wonderful! I didn't use the celery or green peppers but added some celery salt minus regular salt. I also added some brown sugar as well. Thanks for the great recipe!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      Loved them! I did not have celery so used 1 Tbl. celery flakes instead. To supplement the catsup, I added about 1/3 cup of bottled chili sauce. Then, to kick it up a notch, I gave the pot a dash (or two) of McCormick's Spicy Steak Seasoning. Will definitely be making this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      These really are awesome! I took your advice and almost doubled the catsup - it was perfect! This is a great meal when you're short on time. DH didn't sound too enthusiastic when I told him we were having sloppy joes for dinner, but once he tasted it he gobbled down two and enjoyed every bite. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Sloppy Joes

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.5
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    38%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 51.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 827.9 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 18.6 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites