9 Reviews

True to its name, this made the most awesome tacos! I used a 2 pound boneless beef chuck (which worked well because all I had was a 10 oz. jar of Rotel), placed that on top of sliced onions, and rubbed the spices onto both sides of the beef. It was perfectly cooked and seasoned and not too spicy. No more ground beef tacos for this family. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anovamom June 22, 2011

Loved this! I added an onion for the bottom of the crockpot. It had great flavor, so yummy. We used the leftovers in salads, nachos and breakfast burritos. I will make this again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade-Angel May 22, 2010

Great filling! I'm not putting any stars on this rating because I made a serious change to the recipe, using 1 1/2 cups of salsa in place of the tomatoes with chiles, since I had no chiles on hand. I followed your method as written, although I refrigerated the beef mix overnight and defatted it before using for my burritos. For the taco seasoning, I used Mucho Gusto Taco Seasoning Mix, and for the roast I used a bottom round, which required a full ten hours to get tender enough to shred. Definitely a make again recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH March 06, 2010

Went very well in my enchiladas.. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Learning the Ropes May 02, 2009

These were great! We just filled whole wheat flour tortillas with the meat, cheese and salsa for a very easy and delicious supper complete with fruit salad. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 05, 2008

This is a great recipe for tacos, burritos or nachos. We liked it best as nachos actually. So easy and so much better than using ground beef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie P. December 10, 2007

This is the ONLY way to make shredded beef. The taco seasoning is perfect and gives the beef great flavor. Love the fact that while it it cooking, you can get the rest of the meal ready. Great way to entertain. Thanks for sharing, SoozieQ. This is a real winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot July 03, 2007

These were DELICIOUS! Very easy to make too. We stuffed burrito-sized tortillas with the meat, cheese, rice and lettuce and served with a fruit salad - they were a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof June 15, 2007

I absolutely love easy, fast prep and delicious. This is all three. I had never put taco seasoning in the crock-pot before--Great flavor addition and the tomatoes and jalepenos add just a touch of heat (perfect for my DH-heat intolerant). Great on lettuce with sour cream, cheese, and cilantro--oh and additional hot sauce for the rest of the family--Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssinderella May 16, 2007
Awesome Shredded Beef Burritos or Tacos (Crock Pot)