Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Pistachio Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Pistachio Cake

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 04, 2014

      Icing totally makes this cake. My kids, whom have never eaten pistachio pudding before, loved it! I think I baked longer than necessary, but I run into that all the time with my oven. It still tasted really good. This was really good and as others have said; very easy. We will def be making this Again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Oh Carol, Awesome is definitely the word for this cake. I used 3/4 cup vegetable oil and I also sprinkled walnuts on the top instead of pistachios. My whole family loved it. But I knew they would; your recipes have never failed me. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Another blow-out recipe Kitten! I prepared this for my 12 canasta ladies yesterday and it was a total success. They all now have the recipe. I've made Pistachio cake before but not your version. The addition of the lemon-time flavored soda was different, the amount of oil and the inclusion of chopped walnuts--all great changes. I allowed the cake to refrigerate for 3 hours before frosting, put it back into the frig till cutting. It's really very attractive made in a bundt pan. Thenka for posting--this will be the ONLY pistachio cake I make in the future!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      Update 2009 St. Patrick's Day: I made a double batch of this pistachio cake. This time I used the AWESOME frosting you posted. Everyone at work absolutely raved about the frosting. Simply delicious! I made this cake into 24 cupcakes for St. Patrick's day and decorated the cupcakes with light green cream cheese frosting and pistachio nuts. I would have liked to make the stated recipe frosting, but I needed a more stable frosting because the cupcakes were not going to be refrigerated some of the time. The cake was easy to make and VERY MOIST! Excellent recipe and I can't wait to make it with the original frosting. Thank you for another great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Made the cake today for a Christmas party. Everyone loved it! I followed the instructions exactly, including the whole cup of vegetable oil; it was delicious! I had to skip the toasted pistachios (burned them while toasting) and instead lightly sprinkled the frosting with red sugar and made a design in the center with halved pistachios. The best thing about this cake, aside from the flavor, is how easy it was to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Oh my goodness! I absolutely loved this cake! When I was a little girl, we went to a BBQ and someone had brought this. I doubt anyone else managed to get a piece of this cake. I love the dense texture. I have been looking for probably 30 years for this exact taste/texture to live up to my memory. I am so glad you shared this recipe, and I am even happier I stumbled across it! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Well, I was a bit freaked out with the 1 cup of oil, since the cake mix box only called for 2 tablespoons. I did not have vegetable oil, so I substituted canola oil and decided to go with the recipe as written (1 cup). I think next time I’ll go with the suggestion on the cake mix box, as the cake was pretty dense. May be my fault for substituting oils or my brand of cake mix? The frosting was fabulous, yummm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2005

      (Yes, I'm back, Kitten. You've posted too many good recipes. :D) This is an excellant cake and I'm not just saying that because I love pistachios. :D I made this for my sons birthday and all the kids loved it. I did make one small change. I didn't have any pop on hand since my family rarely drinks it so I substited pineapple juice. And instead of the frosting listed, I made a plain buttercream frosting flavored with a yellow tropical koolaid. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      Definately easy to make, as recipe states. Cake was really moist and had good flavor. Frosting was not overly sweet. Great for pistachio fans. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2005

      I was really pleased with the cake. Had no problems making it. Believe me, it went fast, a fight for the last piece.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      An excellent cake, and so pretty. DH has eaten almost half since last night. Definately one to do again and again. I'll make another next week for company and garnish it with some new, tiny, flavorful, glossy strawberrries.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      I made this cake for my husband and he absolutely loved it. It was very moist and the icing was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Pistachio Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 658.3
     
    Calories from Fat 440
    66%
    Total Fat 48.9 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 98.4 mg
    32%
    Sodium 393.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 33.4 g
    133%
    Protein 8.9 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    instant pistachio pudding mix

    instant pistachio pudding mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites