10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very flavorfull, My family does not like refried beans so I used to make pinto beans with ham hock and leave the beans whole. Now I'll replace it with these for a change.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L DJ May 13, 2002

Very nice recipe! Thank you for posting. I had to take a few stars away because I found the results to be very, very salty. Otherwise good but be warned that they are also very spicy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TaterBug! :) March 24, 2008

I gotta say these beans were awesome. My husband and I couldn't stop eating them, however, I thought they were too salty. I drained off the juice and filled the pot with fresh water twice. Anyone who is trying this recipe, you might want to start with only half the salt the recipe calls for. Thanks Christine for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca_E January 20, 2008

Delicious! I'm always worried about bland beans so I've never made them before. These are so flavorful! I didn't have all the spices, but this recipe is very flexible and forgiving! We loved them and will have them again for sure. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CutensassyCookin May 31, 2010

Excellent recipe. This is the second time making them and this time I used half of the beans for refried beans for Tostados and the other half in Taco Soup. Both were delicious. I didn't have beer so left that out and used pancetta for the salt pork. You can't find anything as tasty in a can. Do make these beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound January 05, 2009

YUMMY and nice n spicy! Thank you! This will be used often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RazzleDazzle August 28, 2008

This is an amazing recipe. It converts the humble pinto bean into a gourmet delight. The dish improves with age. We thoroughly enjoy this one! Thanks for posting it Christine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda Joyce December 23, 2007

We are planning a Homecoming Gospel Concert and I have chosen this recipe as we will be providing food. I fixed it for family and friends and they all loved it! Great served with cornbread. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinda37379 October 23, 2007

These were Awesome and Flavorfu as stated in other reviews. Thank so much for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mar~Bear May 28, 2006

These beans truly are AWESOME! I didn't add the beer, and I used ham hock instead of bacon. This is now my favorite way to fix beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachael K February 12, 2006
Awesome Pinto Beans