Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Pinto Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Pinto Beans

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2002

      Very flavorfull, My family does not like refried beans so I used to make pinto beans with ham hock and leave the beans whole. Now I'll replace it with these for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Very nice recipe! Thank you for posting. I had to take a few stars away because I found the results to be very, very salty. Otherwise good but be warned that they are also very spicy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2008

      I gotta say these beans were awesome. My husband and I couldn't stop eating them, however, I thought they were too salty. I drained off the juice and filled the pot with fresh water twice. Anyone who is trying this recipe, you might want to start with only half the salt the recipe calls for. Thanks Christine for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Delicious! I'm always worried about bland beans so I've never made them before. These are so flavorful! I didn't have all the spices, but this recipe is very flexible and forgiving! We loved them and will have them again for sure. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Excellent recipe. This is the second time making them and this time I used half of the beans for refried beans for Tostados and the other half in Taco Soup. Both were delicious. I didn't have beer so left that out and used pancetta for the salt pork. You can't find anything as tasty in a can. Do make these beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2008

      YUMMY and nice n spicy! Thank you! This will be used often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

      This is an amazing recipe. It converts the humble pinto bean into a gourmet delight. The dish improves with age. We thoroughly enjoy this one! Thanks for posting it Christine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      We are planning a Homecoming Gospel Concert and I have chosen this recipe as we will be providing food. I fixed it for family and friends and they all loved it! Great served with cornbread. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      These were Awesome and Flavorfu as stated in other reviews. Thank so much for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      These beans truly are AWESOME! I didn't add the beer, and I used ham hock instead of bacon. This is now my favorite way to fix beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Pinto Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (163 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 236.5
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    52%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 14.9 mg
    4%
    Sodium 2243.7 mg
    93%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Season-All salt

    spice essence

    seasoning

    Pickapeppa Sauce

    A.1. Original Sauce

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites