Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Pierogi Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Pierogi Casserole

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2003

      This is just awesome!! Tastes just like a pierogi without the hassle of making them, my BF ate about half of it the first night and then took it to work for lunch the next day. This is going to be a regular at our house. Next time I may use more bacon, but that's a personal preference. Yumm!! Thanks for this one yooper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2003

      Oh Oh Oh!!!! I used a whole pound of bacon per Kim127's comments. My whole family liked this very much. It is going to be a keeper. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2003

      yum, yum, yum! Huge hit with family, without all the work of making pierogi, which are just to time consuming for me. Next time, I'm going to experiment with some different fillings, too! Adding sauerkraut or cabbage would be great. Got hubby's highest honor, "this is a definite do-again!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was a great recipe! However next time I will add salt and pepper to my potatos as I cook them because this was really bland until I added the sour cream to my bowl with salt and pepper and mixed it up. Also it didn't say if you should drain the butter and fat off the bacon so I didn't and it was really greasy, I think next time I will drain it off. I def. wont be making it often because it's so fattening, but it was REALLY yummy!!! Thanks for the reipce!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2003

      This is IT!!! Thanks Yopper, to bad I didn't discover this recipe years ago when I would have the kitchen covered in flour and dough from making home made pierogis. I could have ate this right out of the dish, it is simply easy to make and wonderfully delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2010

      This was ok. I thought it was a lot of work for what was basically a baked potato with lasagna noodles and garlic. It tasted fine, but I probably won't make it again. I will just mix onions and bacon pieces in with mashed potatoes, top it with some cheese and have it all as a side dish. Thanks for the idea though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Like many others, I played around with this somewhat to try to make it a bit easier. It's actually a lot of work to make-- thank goodness my husband stepped in to help! I made a huge batch of mashed potatoes (from scratch, probably almost 5 lbs worth, with butter, half&half, garlic powder and a bit of nutmeg) and mixed in a couple of cups of cheddar and the sauteed onions (didn't use the fresh garlic since I'd already used garlic powder). I broke the lasagna noodles in half before cooking, which made them easier to cook and to layer in the pan. Six of the half noodles per layer... noodles on the bottom, a layer of potatoes, some crumbled bacon, noodles, potatoes, bacon, noodles, potatoes, bacon and about a cup of grated colby-cheddar. Baked for about 40 minutes and served with chopped scallions and sour cream. Delish, great comfort food, but definitely something I'll do only occasionally because of the calories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Serious comfort food - the whole family loved it. I omitted the bacon, but I'll bet that's delish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Very good on a cold, windy day. I had leftover mashed potatoes so I put them to good use in this recipe. Next time I may add a splash of apple cider vinegar to the onions while cooking or I may stir the sour cream in with the mashed potatoes. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Major comfort food. I used more potatoes then the recipe stated and also put the noodles on the bottom and a layer of taters and cheese on top. Next time I will add more onion. This was simple and easy to make and delicious. Made forOne Dish Wonders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      This was a really tasty dish. I will layer it differently next time though, starting with noodles and ending in potatoes and cheese, because the top noodle got really dry, and it was sorta hard to get from the pan with potatoes on the bottom. This is really a great recipe with good flavor! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This was really good. Next time I'm going to make garlic mashed potatoes and maybe put some sour cream or cream cheese in them for extra flavor. I'll definately be experimenting with this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This one was a huuuge hit! Total comfort food to the max. I used the leftovers as a side dish to steak the next night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Good recipe! I am the laziest cook ever, so I used already prepared mashed potatoes. I cooked the garlic and onions together and added them to the potatoes. In order to avoid the greasy bacon, I put the bacon on a cookie cooling tray in the oven with a cookie sheet under it to catch the grease. I then assembled everything using the bacon in strips, instead of diced. I cut the prep time down significantly and it only took 10 minutes to cook and melt the cheese. Other than the cheese, everything else was already cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      Family loved it! Tend to add xtra cheese and bacon, but it's great when there's tons of snow on the ground!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      We like this alot ....thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

    • on June 24, 2007

      Great tasting recipe! Will make this one again for sure:) Thanks from me and my hubby!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2007

      Wonderful recipe! I cut all the fat out of this though. I used vegetarian bacon bits, soy margarine, and soy milk. No grease on that baby! Huge hit around here and we may never eat regular pierogi's again! I also made the extra layer of onions, garlic and bacon bits for inbetween the potato. I keep the layers thin and by the time it's done there are 6 layers. We serve it with a big greek salad. Thanks for a recipe that could be converted to vegetarian quite easily. - Cgyvegan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      I thought I had already rated this!! This was a hearty casserole that reheats well for lunches. Not for dieters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Pierogi Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 849.3
     
    Calories from Fat 492
    58%
    Total Fat 54.7 g
    84%
    Saturated Fat 29.1 g
    145%
    Cholesterol 126.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 702.7 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.6 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes