14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

First my changes/substitutions: I used Splenda Sugar Blend, unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil and orange extract instead of vanilla extract. The end result was DELICIOUS. The muffins were fluffy and moist and the combination of orange and chocolate was perfect. I got 15 muffins instead of 12 which is a bonus. :) I took some over to my in-laws and they thought the muffins were very good too. I stored them in the refrigerator, then when I was in the mood for a muffin, I would pop it into the microwave for 10-15 seconds and it tasted like it just came out of the oven. Made for June 2013 Aus/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 June 22, 2013

Photo may be seen here, in the Savor gallery: www.annacia.com. First I really love that this recipe isn't too sweet. The orange flavor is less pronounced than I expected and I suspect that any more sweetness would really overpower the delicate orange. The muffins baked up high, light and fluffy. Even though I used 1/2 a cup of dark chocolate chips that flavor was still the strongest in the muffin (not that thats a bad thing at all!). I should say that I used Splenda and a couple of tablespoons less oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 26, 2013

I didn't have any oranges so, I used tangerine zest instead. Good muffins!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerelyMarie March 03, 2013

Really nice muffins! I used 1/3 whole wheat flour and a little less oil to help my conscience ;-). The family loved them even though the boys would like me to add more sugar next time....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LiselotteBN February 21, 2013

I got 12 mini muffins and 9 regular sized muffins. These muffins are very good, moist and super easy. I wonder if you could use more orange juice and just cut out the milk (I used almond milk)? It took about 10 minutes for the minis to bake and 18 for the other. Made for my fellow Chef Gone Wild for ZWT8. Thanks loof! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif July 25, 2012

Sunshine and joy, light and tasty, easy-peasy for a non-baker like me. As soon as I finished this batch I had to promise to bake another. I used semi-sweet chocolate, might try bittersweet next time. Yes, they are awesome! Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL July 08, 2012

these are really good! a little denser then the other muffins I make, but very tasty! I made one batch of large muffins, and then a batch of mini's. I cut down the choc chips in the mini's, and I would also cut the chips in the large ones next time. I used orange essence, as suggested. I think I will also try them with white chips. Thanks for a great recipe Loof. made for Aussie swap June 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills June 04, 2012

really good. used 1 cup ww and added orange oil. yum

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Strawberry_sunshine March 15, 2012

Great muffin. Very light and flavorful. I subbed orange extract for the vanilla also, for a little more orange taste. Also not too sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey January 28, 2012

Oh my...these are fantastic!!!
Really quick and easy to prepare, making it a good one to make with 4 year old DD.
We made 16 mini muffins and a dozen slightly larger ones...and we started feasting a few minutes after they emerged from the oven....they were awesome...moist, light and flavoursome !!!
A real keeper for us-thank you so much loof x

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo November 21, 2011
Awesome Orange Chocolate Muffins