23 Reviews

i have made this same recipe before, but i don't use cinnamon. This is a fabulous recipe. We dip it hot or cold in a mixture of wasabi paste and soya sauce. To taste. One of my favorites.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deco Lady April 27, 2003

Not much I can add to the other comments here! Very tasty. I made one small change. I subbed 5-spice powder for the cinnamon, and it tasted great. I poured off the marinade into a small saucepan and boiled it down a bit, and drizzled it over the cooked, sliced meat before serving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey December 23, 2012

I didn't follow the entire recipe, but I used the marinade for pork steaks. I did not have sherry on hand, so a subbed about 1 TBS rice vinegar for the sherry. I marinated two large pork steaks for about 24 hours, grilled them over hickory chips until nice and browned, then braised in the oven for about an hour in half sparkling cider (a sub for beer) and half BBQ sauce. It was moist and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
galponetta July 11, 2012

Followed the recipe exactly, and marinated for 72 hours. Awesome!! You can taste the flavor of the marinade (especially the hosin sauce), but it's delicate enough so that you can still taste the meat, too. I roasted the tenderloins @ 350 Degrees for about a 1/2 hour, and they came out moist and flavorful. A winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
f6strings May 24, 2010

This was very good - we used it on pork chops (cut from a boneless loin, not a "tenderloin") . I only had four hours to marinate the pork, but it was still well flavored. We'll use this again and look forward to longer marinating and trying it on other meats, as well. Thanks for a useful recipe, Chip!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lise in Indiana May 14, 2010

This was amazing. Had two tenderloins so I doubled the recipe and then did as Little_Sister reviewer did and brought the leftover marinade to a boil then simmered for 15-20 minutes and used as a side sauce and on top of my garlicky mashed "cauliflower". Everyone LOVED this marinade. I pan seared then roasted the tenderloin. Also, I only had four hours to marinade and still was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlynntice January 14, 2010

Unbelievably good! I think marinating for the full 48 hours made it very tender. Grilled tenderloin on a gas grill. Left for a little longer than called for in recipe. Just a personal preference. Got grill to 500 degrees and seared 2 minutes on each side then turned off one burner to lower heat slightly and grilled 40 minutes more, turning every 10 minutes. Let rest 15 minutes. Came out with a perfectly charred and juicy result. I brought the leftover marinade to a boil and then simmered for 15 to 20 minutes to serve on the side for dipping. Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little_Sister March 22, 2009

This recipe was very good and I will certainly be making it again. I used it as a 'last minute' marinade for pork chops. We ended up not having them when I planned so they ultimately marinated for 24 hours or so. The flavor was very light but yummy and different than our usual pork. The four stars rather than five was strictly based on my under marination = )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith August 05, 2008

This was really yummy! I had a big pack of tenderloins from Costco, and I did one in this and one in another marinade I bought as a safety (both sat for 48 hours). My husband asked if there was more, and I didn't have any leftovers of this one. I only changed a couple of things: I used olive oil instead of peanut oil and I didn't add the light brown sugar (just the honey at 2 Tbsp.). The store bought marinated one he tried and that one went into the fridge--this one didn't survive! This is definitely a keeper and we will make this again. Thanks for sharing: I'm not buying another marinade since I found this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingBlues July 28, 2008

Good marinade that doesn't overpower the taste of the meat. DH and I both rated it a 4. Next time I will add more garlic. Served with glazed carrots which which complemented the flavors in the meat perfectly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride April 20, 2008
Awesome Marinade for Pork Tenderloin