19 Reviews

Now in regular rotation for my family, these are delicious and just as good as those made with bread crumbs. I've made them exactly as written, but the recipe easily accepts variations. I've made them with a variety of herbs in lieu of the parsley (such as dill or basil), dried onions and garlic powder when I don't have fresh, and barbecue pork rinds in place of plain. I also increase the lemon juice and add a couple tablespoons of ground flax. We like them with a simple onion-dill sauce made with sour cream.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WarMaid July 24, 2011

This is probably the first time in my life I have followed a recipe to the T. Absolutely gorgeous looking and tasting. This beautiful brown crunch on the outside from frying them. And the rich salmon flavor with that pop of fresh lemon and some onion and garlic. Just delicious. It was a HUGE hit with everyone. I even took a risk and fried them up without refrigerating them. They held together just beautifully. The sauce I made was blue cheese, mayonaise, lemon juice, and dill. Generous dash of hot sauce on top of that. Served with a lemon wedge. I am so pleased. It took me 10 minutes to do the whole thing start to finish. I will be using this recipe in years to come. It's perfet as is. Thank you!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen B. April 02, 2016

I thought grinding up pork rinds would be a pain...not so. Used blender..easy peasy! Hubs loved these...he said better than any I'd ever made! Crunchy and yummy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ronniejvaughn February 06, 2016

THANK YOU! Finally a salmon cake that holds together, that tastes like salmon instead of breadcrumbs and is a snap to make. Easy peasy and a big hit with my guy. We had them over salad with ranch dressing, tomatoes, avocado. Yummy!!! I let the mixture sit in the refrigerator for an hour or more - no problem. Going to try this recipe next with canned crab. Oh yeah ....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Woman November 02, 2015

I hardly ever write reviews. Only when something is either really bad, or really good. I'm dieting, lie carb, and I was craving salmon patties. I stumbled across this recipe. I was expecting sub-par "I'll have to settle because I'm dieting" salmon patties. But, WOW! These are delicious. I can hardly tell the difference between these, and the high carb version. I'll be making these often. They're great with a pat of butter and a few drops of lemon on top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashley L. May 01, 2015

These were so good! I didn't follow the recipe completely. I did use lemon juice, but I substituted Old Bay for the other spices. Also, I made a double order and deleted one egg. I didn't even taste the porke rinds. The mix was a little soft, but the refrigeration helps, and also they shouldn't be turned until each side is crispy. The first batch, I used to much oil in my cast iron skillet, but the second batch I just sprayed a small amount of oil, and they were beautiful and delicious. I topped them off with a drizzle of ranch dressing and a splash of hot sauce, and I wanted to eat them all myself! This is a must have recipe for me now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ema April 04, 2015

Although, I did change a few things, the patties were AMAZING! First of all, I'm not a good cook and second, I don't like salmon. Because of the health benefits of salmon, I wanted to somehow add it into my diet. I omitted the egg, onion, lemon, parsley and garlic. I added, garlic powder, onion powder, Italian seasonings, grated parmesan cheese and black pepper. I used hot and spicy pork rinds, light mayo and since it was just for myself, I used only a 5 ounce can of boneless/skinless pink salmon. I did refrigerate the mixture for a half hour and had no problem forming the patties or turning them while frying. They came out nice and crispy. I will be making this a lot! Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan29nj January 17, 2014

Oh these were good!!! I use pork rinds in a lot of things, so was not scared! :) Love that they are low carb and full of flavor. I used a dill mix instead of parsley, everything else just as the recipe states. Came out perfect! My daughter even loved them! They will be a staple in our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa448 June 19, 2013

Totally delicious ~ I made 1/2 of the recipe and got 2 very large patties out of mine so the photo I took isn't the prettiest (lol). Thanks for sharing!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Petunia March 13, 2013

I love this recipe cause it's low on carb. Myself is on low carb diet which helped me lose 30 lbs in 3 months. I'll be looking for more of your low carb recipes in the future.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renata F. March 21, 2006
Awesome Low Carb Salmon Patties