Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Lobster Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Lobster Chowder

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2003

      This was so good! We had our first Christmas Eve on our own and I was looking for something toasty, easy, and yet special. We had some friends over and everyone loved it! Thanks so much for posting this, I used frozen lobster and canned milk and served with a loaf of crusty bread so you could wipe the bowl to get every drop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      I just made this chowder and it IS awesome. I'm not sure I'm a fan of the Italian Seasoning but it didn't take away from the yumminess of this chowder. Next time I might try something else. I followed the advice of Chef Wayne and drained the potato water and used 1% milk. All in all.... YUM! P.S. I'm far from a cook and didn't have a problem making this :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This is a lovely bisque soup/chowder. As I have never taken the plunge to try and make myself I thought this recipe looked fairly easy. BB you have opened some doors for me to try more. I liked the pleasant and light taste (for a chowder) of this and find this would be a great camping soup as canned milk is plentiful and shelf safe. Followed directions exactly, using the frozen lobster bits. After tasting some, I did think it needed a bit of a kick, maybe some garlic or red pepper to liven it up some. However, that is our tastes. The chowder stands on its own as is and is quite tasty. Made FrenchTarts rustic crock bread to go with it for dinner tonight. Made for PAC Sept2009 edited 2/25/10 I have made this several times since the first time and my family and DH's family love it. I do add in a Tsp of minced garlic, some corn, and black pepper with red peppers on the table for individual tastes. Excellent. Upgrading stars for it's taste, versatility, and deliciousness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      This chowder turned out great!! I had leftover lobster meat from a feast we had a few nights earlier. Only thing I would change is to use half the pepper that the recipe calls for. We all enjoy food a little spicy, but found this spicier than it needed to be. Regardless, it was devoured and everyone, even the kids, liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      I've made this recipe a few times over the years and it is truly awesome! I prepared this recently using 7 ounces of frozen lobster meat, substituted about 1 oz. of sliced sweet pimientos for the peppers and cut all other ingredients in half for a superb chowder for 4 or 5 servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Tried this recipe for New's Years Day dinner for eight as a starter. It was awesome, everyone wanted the recipe.Did use just one can of 2% evaporated milk and the other hal and half cream and added crab meat. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2006

      Great Chowder, I cut the recipe in half, except for the (Fresh Nova Scotia lobster)! Also I drained the potatoes and added the evaporated milk and 1/2 cup of 1% milk,(ommitting the potato water makes it less starchy). Will be making it again for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2002

      I have also used just milk, and half & half instead of the canned milk. But the canned milk is too handy when you are on a boat! And the measurement for fresh lobster is really about 2 handfuls! So, however makes you happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Lobster Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 254.0
     
    Calories from Fat 108
    42%
    Total Fat 12.0 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 82.4 mg
    27%
    Sodium 875.6 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    2% evaporated milk

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites