17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed the recipe exactly as written and took this to a Memorial Day cookout at my sister's house. It didn't really go over that well with many people. I ended up bringing most of it home. I'm giving it three stars, because I thought it was pretty good and so did a couple of others, plus it was very quick and easy to make. I liked the combination of the sugar and cumin, but I like chili dog sauce that is saucy. This is not and just looks like ground beef in a bowl, when served. I had to tell everyone what it was for. I would probably make this again, but not for an outing. Thanks for the recipe Busy Mom.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
keen5 May 28, 2003

I just made this and made a few changes to my liking's and I absolutely loved the end result. I added a bit of mustard and I am not one to measure ingredients so I would say to use it to your likings if you want that tang to the sauce. I also used diced onions that I ground through my chopper. I also used my mini chopper to finely ground the burger once it had been cooked, I did cook everything together so the flavor was there. It is messy to make this way, but a good cook is a messy cook. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefMy2 August 30, 2013

This chili tastes ok, but it is not what I expected. The color, consistency, and taste is not exactly what I was looking for. It was easy and probably has the ingredients I am looking for, but not the right amounts. You really should cook the hamburger first so you can drain the fat off. If you do that later after the spices have been added, much of the flavor is drained off as well. I found that it had a sweet taste, so I added quite a bit more salt than a dash.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3tmom July 02, 2010

I made this on 5/03/08 to top my hot dogs with.And since I didn't need the full recipe, only half was made.As I was reading the reviews, the decison was made to cook the hamburger first.Except for that and cutting the recipe in half, I follwed the recipe as written. I found the sauce to be just "a tad "on the dry side,so the next time this is made I'm going to add just a little more water or ketchup. But I really enjoyed the taste of this sauce,just the right amount of seasonings.This will be made again. Thank you for posting and,"Keep Smiling :)"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � May 04, 2008

Excellent and easy.We loved the consistancy.It freezes very well.It is also easy to add some other seasonings to change it to your own special desired taste.I usually make this every 2 weeks and freeze small batches for my husband and myself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rakes August 04, 2007

Busy mom was correct when she said that this 'chili sauce' is not 'saucey'- I liked it, but it was too dry for my husband - unless we can make it more 'saucey' - we probably wouldn't make it again...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephanierndos September 03, 2005

This is a great meat sauce! The cumin and sugar amounts are perfect!! Even my plain 'ole ketchup-only hot dog kid tried some of this on her hot dog and liked it!! I am thinking that this would be a great sloppy joe base too! This is going into my once-a-month cooking list so I can have batches of this in the freezer at all times! Thanks for this great recipe :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae October 21, 2002

Great tasting and easy to prepare

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elaine T. October 30, 2014

I found it to be a good start but a little bland. I increased the cumin to (2) teaspoons, the Chili powder to (3) teaspoons and added (3) teaspoons of adobe sauce. The method of cooking all the ingredients at once was right on target to provide the correct consistency of a proper chili sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Todd S. October 26, 2013

If you want a hotdog chilli that has a classic chilli flavor - this is not it. The main problem with it is the ketchup. This recipe basicly makes a meaty spicy ketchup - which is not bad, just not chilli. The sweet ketchup flavor overwhelms every thing else including the flavor from the chilli powder. If you substitute a can of tomato paste and a can of rotel for the ketchup (and leave out the sugar), it becomes much better. Also, need to increase the chilli powder to 6 tbsps or you can simplify the spices by using a packet of Mcormicks chilli seasoning instead.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atelder1 September 24, 2012
Awesome Hot Dog Chili Sauce