Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Hot Dog Chili Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Hot Dog Chili Sauce

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2003

      I followed the recipe exactly as written and took this to a Memorial Day cookout at my sister's house. It didn't really go over that well with many people. I ended up bringing most of it home. I'm giving it three stars, because I thought it was pretty good and so did a couple of others, plus it was very quick and easy to make. I liked the combination of the sugar and cumin, but I like chili dog sauce that is saucy. This is not and just looks like ground beef in a bowl, when served. I had to tell everyone what it was for. I would probably make this again, but not for an outing. Thanks for the recipe Busy Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2013

      I just made this and made a few changes to my liking's and I absolutely loved the end result. I added a bit of mustard and I am not one to measure ingredients so I would say to use it to your likings if you want that tang to the sauce. I also used diced onions that I ground through my chopper. I also used my mini chopper to finely ground the burger once it had been cooked, I did cook everything together so the flavor was there. It is messy to make this way, but a good cook is a messy cook. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      This chili tastes ok, but it is not what I expected. The color, consistency, and taste is not exactly what I was looking for. It was easy and probably has the ingredients I am looking for, but not the right amounts. You really should cook the hamburger first so you can drain the fat off. If you do that later after the spices have been added, much of the flavor is drained off as well. I found that it had a sweet taste, so I added quite a bit more salt than a dash.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I made this on 5/03/08 to top my hot dogs with.And since I didn't need the full recipe, only half was made.As I was reading the reviews, the decison was made to cook the hamburger first.Except for that and cutting the recipe in half, I follwed the recipe as written. I found the sauce to be just "a tad "on the dry side,so the next time this is made I'm going to add just a little more water or ketchup. But I really enjoyed the taste of this sauce,just the right amount of seasonings.This will be made again. Thank you for posting and,"Keep Smiling :)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      Excellent and easy.We loved the consistancy.It freezes very well.It is also easy to add some other seasonings to change it to your own special desired taste.I usually make this every 2 weeks and freeze small batches for my husband and myself.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2005

      Busy mom was correct when she said that this 'chili sauce' is not 'saucey'- I liked it, but it was too dry for my husband - unless we can make it more 'saucey' - we probably wouldn't make it again...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2002

      This is a great meat sauce! The cumin and sugar amounts are perfect!! Even my plain 'ole ketchup-only hot dog kid tried some of this on her hot dog and liked it!! I am thinking that this would be a great sloppy joe base too! This is going into my once-a-month cooking list so I can have batches of this in the freezer at all times! Thanks for this great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2014

      Great tasting and easy to prepare

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      I found it to be a good start but a little bland. I increased the cumin to (2) teaspoons, the Chili powder to (3) teaspoons and added (3) teaspoons of adobe sauce. The method of cooking all the ingredients at once was right on target to provide the correct consistency of a proper chili sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      If you want a hotdog chilli that has a classic chilli flavor - this is not it. The main problem with it is the ketchup. This recipe basicly makes a meaty spicy ketchup - which is not bad, just not chilli. The sweet ketchup flavor overwhelms every thing else including the flavor from the chilli powder. If you substitute a can of tomato paste and a can of rotel for the ketchup (and leave out the sugar), it becomes much better. Also, need to increase the chilli powder to 6 tbsps or you can simplify the spices by using a packet of Mcormicks chilli seasoning instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2012

      Now, I will say that I did some doctoring to this recipe because I knew it would be missing a few things and the amounts that are here are not enough for my family's taste. However, this was a great base for me to make the chili sauce I have been craving. The resulting chili sauce was so good I made it twice in one week! I added a little more water and let it simmer way longer to cook down to the consistency we like. I added some diced onion and garlic and used brown sugar instead of white sugar. I also added some paprika and probably a few other additions that I can't remember off the top of my head...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Good consistency... Zero taste... I made this for a family get together. when it finished cooking, i tasted it and it tasted like cooked hamburger with just a hint of chili. I added 4x as much chili that it called for and it still didn't taste all that great. I think that it needed more chili powder and maybe some tomato sauce... I guess I will stick to how dear old mom made it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      My husband has been bugging me to make chili so when I found this one I tried. I added a loy more chili powder and about 1/2 cup more water. Near the end of cooking I used my emersion blender so it looked more like chili sauce and not chili flavored hamburger. All in all a good find! Thanks,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      My lunch guest gave this recipe 5 stars. They thought it made a great chili dog . I made it as written. Thanks busy mom. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Not sure what I did wrong, if any. This had a nice chili flavor but turned out to dry. I feel it needs just alittle more liquid to it. I will try again but I will cook my hamburger first than add the rest with more of ketchup and possibly some tomato paste for thickness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      I am giving this five stars as this is the exact consistency of sauce I have been searching for. The cooking technique is unique and could not be easier. I did need to cook it closer to 30 minutes to get the thicker consistency I wanted. With all that said, I KNEW reading the instructions that this would be too sweet for my taste and it really was too sweet. I think next time I make it I will cut the sugar down to 1 teaspoon as the ketchup already is quite sweet. I will also up the garlic and chili powder, maybe add a dash of tobasco. This is great served san hotdog in the hot dog bun. Topped with minced onion and mustard...you have a coney joe! A cross between a coney (chili) dog and a sloppy joe! They are wonderful!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2004

      Great addition to any hotdog! My 5 year old loved this. I didn't cook the ground beef in the sauce because I already had some cooked ground beef in the freezer. I will try the recipe as posted the next time and freeze a batch too! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Hot Dog Chili Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (82 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.2
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    47%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 50.7 mg
    16%
    Sodium 196.7 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.4 g
    17%
    Protein 15.9 g
    31%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites