Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on January 22, 2007

      Made this bread tonight to go with baked ziti. Everyone loved the taste and the texture. It has a very soft inside and a nice crust on top. I used butter instead of Shortening. It turned out great. There is one piece left and I hope to get to it first in the morning for toast:)thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Thanks for another fantastic bread machine recipe. So easy and so delicious, made great toast. This is a keeper Marie, Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      I also have made this several times and it has turned out great each time. I love the texture and that it is an all around everyday excellent bread. Been looking for something like this for a long time for my bread machine. Outstanding recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      I have made this several times now. Every time a success! I am at 5,000 feet so I adjust the yeast. I made 2 loaves today to use for the stuffing for my Thanksgiving turkey. I am toying with the idea of baking a loaf for Thanksgiving dinner instead of dinner rolls, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This is an outstanding bread recipe. The reason I'm only giving it a 4 is because my son was so frustrated trying to put peanut butter on it. He said make the old loaf. So with that in made, may I suggest this loaf to wow everyone at the dinner table, and something heavier for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, the bread tears very easliy. I had to take my bread out 12 mins early as the loaf hit the top and was burning. It was completely baked, crusty and delicious. Thanks for the recipe Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2006

      Hey There- I made this bread today to go with Crockpot Pork Stroganoff. Like the crock I set the timer and came home to a wonderful loaf of bread-really nice texture! Thanks for posting, Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      This was very good white bread. It went together quickly and made a nice, light loaf. My family enjoyed this bread and I will be making again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      I don't want to rate it yet, I want to try making it again. I don't know if it is supposed to be like that, it has the most perfect crust at first and inside texture, but the next day it lacks the texture and the taste... I don't know what I am doing wrong... I will update again after making it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      Excellent bread! Perfect texture and sliced easily. Thank you for sharing a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      excellent, easy and the best crust ever! Thanks! brownmolly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      Very good textured bread recipe. Taste was good also. Will be making this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      This is a great bread I have made it several times now and it comes out perfect. DH and friends love it too!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      Made this again, used margarine for the shortening, milk for the water and honey for the sugar. Excellent! — Sep 24, 2005

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Excellent bread. This is only the second time I've used my new bread maker. The first time I used a recipe from the manufacurers cookbook. Yuck! This time the bread turned out awesome. It was a perfectly shaped loaf that was light and soft. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      I have tried lots of bread recipes since I purchased my Bread Maker. This by far is one of the best!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      Excellent recipe! Soft texture and not very sweet .. I needed to add more water to the dough .. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2005

      I'm constantly amazed by how many fantastic bread recipes there are out there! This one is up near the top of my favorites. It's an excellent basic white bread with soft texture and delicious flavor. I used butter flavor crisco, had to add just a tad more water to the machine because the flour was sticking to the side. Instead of baking in my bread machine, I used the dough cycle, then took the dough out, let it rise again and baked in my 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2005

      Wow, how is this simple recipe so darned better than other bread recipes? I only have a 1 lb. machine, so I adjusted the ingredients, and the risen bread just barely missed bumping into the top of my machine! So beautifully high, and crisp on the outside, fluffy as air on the inside...this IS our regular bread from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2005

    • on April 26, 2005

      Tasted wonderful. Like NYLaura said, it does have an italian taste to it. Made it in the bread machine and it hit the top of the lid with 1 hr. left on the timer. It eventually fell a little. Even with that, it still tasted great. Will try decreasing the yeast next time with this recipe as others suggested and will try using the dough cycle and baking in the oven. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 989.8
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    17%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1561.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 177.7 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites