Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2008

      My very first try making bread with a bread machine. I got the machine at a yard sale and there was no recipe book with it, so I decided to check recipezaar. I followed recipe exactly and it turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Baked this in the oven after the bread machine dough cycle. Came out real nice. DH liked it for sandwiches and said it made great toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Made great bread....added some basil, oregano, and garlic powder!!!! Such a great flavor and texture :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Marie, it IS AWESOME bread. Makes a HUGE loaf! Good flavor and texture. And good the second day too. I used the dough cycle on my ABM and then baked at 350 for about 25 minutes. Next time I'll use my larger bread pan. Thanks for posting a KEEPER, .....Janet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      My new favorite for sandwich bread. Its very light and soft and smelled absolutely yummy while cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Very good. My default bread machine bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      A very light and airy bread. I used unsalted butter for the shortening. Made it in the bread machine and it hit the top of the lid with 1 hr. left on the timer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Awesome bread! Super easy and wonderful taste and texture. I loved the crunchy, chewy crust. This is the first bread I've made from scratch in my bread machine, I usually buy the mixes, but never again. I used bread flour, rapid rise yeast, and added a little extra water. I will be making this one again! Thanks for sharing Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I had 2 tablespoons of shortening that I was going to toss (where would I use such a small amount?) and then I found this recipe, only I mixed the ingredients in a plastic bag with the name and instructions to add 1 cup water. How easy to make this a mix! I am using a new ABM so I am not using the timer until I get used to the machine but the timer would also be a great option with this recipe. I used the light crust setting and I had to add another tablespoon of flour (could be the humidity today). Super soft bread with a delightfully chewy crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This truly is AWESOME. It turned out beautifully. I am usually disappointed in the texture of bread in the breadmaker, but not this one. Thank you Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      I just bought my first bread machine and this was my first attempt. It was wonderful and delicious! Thanks for helping to get my confidence up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2007

      This was great I used bread flour and had a perfect loaf for dinner. I have never gotten so many complements on a loaf of bread. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      Just had a slice of this bread and it is perfect, imho! I followed the directions exactly using bread flour. Set the dough cycle, turned dough out onto floured surface, and shaped loaf. Placed into greased loaf pan, covered, and let rise again. Baked at 375* for 30 mins. Smelled heavenly while baking. I wouldn't change a thing next time... and I will be making this again! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Marie! Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      The kind of flour needed was unspecified so, I used all purpose flour for this and the bread didn't really rise in the machine. The bread didn't turn out at all like it was supposed to and the taste was ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      This was so very good and such simple, on-hand ingredients. Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This was great. I'm going to save this to make all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      This bread is exactly as described..Crusty, light inside and absolutely delicious. Thanks so much for posting. So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      I made this yesterday but had no shortening so I substituted butter. I put the dry yeast, sugar & salt into the warm water and let it sit for 10 minutes to bloom and then added the butter and flour. I placed this into the bread machine on the dough cycle and then took it out and knocked it back. I rolled it out flat and rolled it up and placed it on a baking sheet. I let it rise for 45 minutes, brushed the top with egg white, and then baked it in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. It came out beautifully. My husband thought it was the best soft homemade bread he had ever had. I will definitely be recommending this recipe to friends.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      This is such a simple recipe and so yummy ! I didn't have shortening so used margarine instead. Makes fabulous toast ! Thanks for a great recipe Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      This has become DH's favorite for the machine. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 989.8
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    17%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1561.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 177.7 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites