Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2012

      I really liked this bread. It felt like store bought but the flavor was so much better. Also, I really like that I already had/could pronounce all the ingredients, not like the store bought, gummed up, enriched with this or that sulfate variety. The only change I made was to substitute real butter for the shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I made this today, 12/16/12 for the " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2011 " Event. I let my bread machine do the hard work,( dough cycle ) formed into a loaf shape and placed it in a greased loaf pan.Then covered, and left to rise in a warm place for 1 hour. The loaf was baked at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. I forgot it was supposed to be a crusty loaf, and buttered the loaf as soon as it came out of the oven.And I couldn't wait for it cool off, so I cut off a small slice and buttered it. Then bit into sheer delight. The bread tastes just wonderful and thank you so much for posting. " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      The recipe didn't specific what kind of flour, so I used just white flour (not bread flour) and it failed!!!! So is everyone using bread flour on this recipe since it got glowing reviews? Please help.

      Joyce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2011

      Seriously good bread! I only wish it lasted longer than a day in my household! It sort of has a french bread taste to it. But since it's so simple to make, it's no problem to make all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      The texture and crust were excellent. For our taste, it needed a bit more salt and I may try it with butter-flavored shortening as I missed the buttery flavor element I usually taste in home-made bread. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      Fantastic recipe! Set bread machine to medium crust and 1.5 lbs and it produced a perfectly crusty outside and a light, airy inside with a great flavor. Was delicious both with and without butter, and so simple to make. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I brought my bread machine out of the shop and dusted it off this week. Hadn't used it in years and didn't know what quantities to use, so I took a stab at your recipe, and so glad I did! I pushed the 1 1/2 button and voila! Made a beautiful nice high loaf even though I subbed 1 1/4 cups of flour for whole wheat flour. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Will try rolls next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

    • on May 06, 2010

      What an easy recipe--just a few standard ingredients and a bread machine yield an excellent loaf of bread. No wonder there are so many positive comments. What's not to like? Followed to the T with great end results--thanks for sharing, Marie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      This is an excellent recipe. I sub white flour for a multigrain flower and I use margarine instead of butter. Hubby has high cholesterol. It turns out fabulously. I have even made this recipe 2/3 whole wheat 1/3 white bread flour and it isn't heavy like most whole wheat breads. My kids devour it. I haven't bought store bread in months and don't plan on every buying it again. My girls love helping me add the ingredients to the bread maker tin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      A perfect bread from the bread machine. Very good and didn't last long with the family. They finished it off real fast. Mother loved it. I will be making this again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe for bread machine bread. I made tis to go with a beef stew and it was perfect. We didn't even butter half of it, it stood on its own. Thank you so much for sharing this yummy recipe. I plan on making it again tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      My 2 grandsons just LOVE this bread. Between the 2 of them I have to fight for any for the rest of us!Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

    • on December 05, 2009

      Very easy to make and yummy to boot! I made exactly as written. I was a little concerned because it didn't rise up like a normal loaf, but it was still very yummy! Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      wow this is so easy to do and the bread has a nice texture. Mine was not dense. It was moist. I used vegetable oil instead of shortening. That's the only change I made. Thanks Marie for the recipe :) Made for TYM tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This was my first attempt at using a bread machine and all in all I think it turned out okay. The loaf was a bit denser than I expected but then again my expectation could be a bit off (never made anything other than a quick bread with any success). I chose to use the dough only cycle then bake in the oven at 350 for 25 minutes as others stated but in my very reliable oven this was not enough time. I cooked my bread for almost double the time. The loaf was tall and beautiful and makes a good sandwich. It is also equally delicious smothered in homemade peach jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      Great bread! I changed the recipe to a 2 lb loaf and all that needs to be noted is that the yeast can stay the same as the 1.5 lb loaf. My house really enjoys fresh bread and this is a great loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I only use my ABM to mix, knead and rise the dough. We don't like bread baked in it. So after the beep I take it out , shape and put in a WELL greased loaf pan. I do find I have to add about 1/2 cup more flour during the mixing stage ( could be alot to do with the high humidity here right now) This is the absolute best white bread machine bread we have ever had.Makes excellent toast. It is so light and fluffy and the crust stays crisp and is not tough. I have even made it using a mix of white flour and a multigrain flour. We are a family of only two now and I have never gotten the knack of cutting my own recipe back LOL Found this recipe and have been making it every couple days . This is a KEEPER and going in my Divine recipes of 2009 cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This was awesome. I set my bread machine to a medium crust and it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 989.8
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    17%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1561.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 177.7 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes