Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    111 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 111

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2012

      Ok so I have made this bread three times in three days - each way just slightly different based on some of the other reviews.
      1 - exactly as the instructions say using regular unbleached flour (I buy it from Costco): It was the best bread I've ever made. Instantly became my "go-to" bread recipe. Used the 1.5 size and a medium crust color and it was delish!
      2 - again using regular all-purpose unbleached flour, I replaced the shortening with butter - no change in taste that I could discern, but the crust was softer and less crusty.
      3 - My personal favorite - I returned to using the shortening instead of butter but I used bread flour (Kroger brand) instead and the taste and texture were significantly improved in my honest opinion - THIS version is now my "go-to" bread recipe - absolutely the best homemade bread I've ever made or had. My daughter cannot get enough of it - she asks for it constantly!
      Oh, and in 2 & 3 I did reduce the cook time to the light setting for the crust. My daughter doesn't like her crust "too brown".
      I am so glad I found this recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      Best bread I've ever made!! I substituted bread flour for ap flour and it turned out great!! It holds up to thin slicing for sandwiches and toast!! Awesome, awesome recipe!! I only used the bread machine for the dough cycle, hate that hole the paddle makes at the bottom of the loaf!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      This bread is AWESOME! So light and airy on the inside and crusty outside. I've tried alot of bread machine recipes and this is one of my most favorites. Thanks so much for sharing this! Just a note I set my machine to light crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2014

      I made 2 loaves of this amazing bread. I used the dough cycle on my 2 bread machines and then shapes into Italian loaves. I made three changes to the recipe, I was out of shortening so I used coconut oil and I used honey to replace the sugar as well as bread flour instead of AP flour. WOW, the outcome was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2014

      Way too sweet,next time i'll halve the sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      Yup, this is great. I had to use the "rapid" setting in order for it to coordinate with the rest of dinner, and even though I didn't use rapid rise yeast, it still came out excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2014

      Made a loaf of this for the first time, used butter, 2 tsp salt and 1tsp bread yeast and bread flour. This is the best bread machine ever, crusty outside, soft and delicious inside and think this will be made weekly if not daily. Thank you Marie for posting it even it was in 2003!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      This is the best sandwich type bread I have ever made. This is what grocery store bread is supposed to be. <br/>I added 1.25 tsp of gluten, used bread flour and substituted 1/2 cup of wheat flour for white.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      wow wow wow!!!<br/>I just made this bread, it is heavenly good, perfect crunch on the crust.<br/>I used butter and the light crust setting.<br/>Thank you for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This is a wonderful bread recipe. I have made it at least 5 times. We use it for everything including sandwich bread! It makes a mean grilled ham and cheese :) <br/>I follow the recipe, except that I add 1 and 1/4 teaspoon of vital gluten. I also add my yeast, sugar and warm water to the bread machine first and let it sit a few minutes until it starts to bubble. Then I add all the other ingredients and set the machine to dough cycle. Once the dough cycle is complete I place the dough on a lightly floured surface and shape it into a loaf. Place it into a greased loaf pan and allow it to rise for about 30 minutes. Then bake in a 350 preheated oven for 30 minutes! We just love it!!! Thanks so much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      I also flatten the rolls a bit, added grated cheese, bacon and a drizzle of olive oil for delicious cheese and bacon rolls just like the bread shop!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2013

      Makes a chewy, crusty loaf with nice flavor. I subbed coconut oil for the shortening and would do so again. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      my family LOVES this bread and could eat a whole loaf in one sitting. I made some changes i used butter and not shortening and the sugar i used 2T honey, 2 tsp. salt. i used bread flour and put 1 tsp. of vinegar to help with the rising the vinegar will not change the flavor. Yes this is a Awesome bread =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      This is a nice and easy French-bread type loaf. I made as directed and enjoyed it very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      After reading all the posiitive reviews on here, I decided to try this. Am working on my second batch now. Fabulous! I used half whole wheat flour, half white bread and kept everything else the same! Beautiful, light fluffy loaf with a wonderful crunchy crust. My new favorite!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      This is such a great and easy recipe! We've made it 3 times in one day! In our last version, we added a 1/2 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. It ended up melting into the bread, made it look like wheat bread, but tastes like chocolate! We were hoping for chocolate chip bread, but it still came out yummy. We toasted the bread and had it with cocoa this morning! I think we will use this as a base and see what we could add to it. THANKS to whomever created this recipe its perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2012

      Tastes great and very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      I followed the directions exactly and it was horrible. the bread fell and tasted like salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2012

      Wonderful. Many white bread recipes I've tried turn out very dense. This was light and soft and so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2012

      I really liked this bread. It felt like store bought but the flavor was so much better. Also, I really like that I already had/could pronounce all the ingredients, not like the store bought, gummed up, enriched with this or that sulfate variety. The only change I made was to substitute real butter for the shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Awesome Homemade Crusty Bread (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 989.8
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    17%
    Total Fat 19.4 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1561.8 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 177.7 g
    59%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 17.3 g
    69%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites